Literary Impulse & Paper Poetry ‘Eudaimonia’ Prompt Submission

Scripturient Scrolls

Eudaimonia is the answer

David Rudder
Paper Poetry

--

Way back when men were men
and girls were pearls of glory
there was a word few had heard
referred to in a story.

The word is Eudaimonia
and under the mistletoe
men kissed girls with golden curls
blessed from head to toe.

My daddy was a mummy
and read the Dead Sea scrolls
a well read scripturient scholar
and liked hot-buttered rolls.

My girl friend came from Cyclops
she only has one eye
she was a hooter on a scooter
As she went rolling by.

We natter, natter, natter
then gnat a little more
we do it now in Greco time
she calls me her Gladiator.

She sometimes turns hypnagogic
a sort of pre-sleep trance
then we cease the histrionics
it’s a pisstified romance.

We’re waiting for each other
it’s not wrong, to ring the gong
Leonard takes her liking
in his poetry and song.

Like two peas we’re poddified
and bask in blessedness
engrossed in Eudaimonia
in pure contentedness.

So, here I am, I am the man
writing scripturient scrolls
like a wombat I’m the bloke
takes long evening strolls.

Pass me the Tabasco
the mustard and the sauce
pour more on the hot dog
and one more for the second course.

Everything is upside down
in the land here called down under
Eglah is the answer
this word may make you wonder.

©David Rudder
7th February 2021

Thanks for reading.

Image courtesy: Literary Impulse

--

--

David Rudder
Paper Poetry

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.