iPoetry-Paper Poetry Prompt

Some of the Ghosts Are Good At Hiding

For prompt “The Ghost of the Past”

Dana Sanford
Paper Poetry
Published in
3 min readOct 19, 2021

--

Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

A dark spot in my memories? Where did my childhood go?

Welcome to my impromptu therapy session:

The girl was just being a little lightheartedly curious. “How did you feel as a kid? What was your Mom like?”

“It was okay. She didn’t kill me, and she kept me alive till I was 18.” I think that I half-smiled and had a deer-in-the-headlights look. It was the first time, at about 20 years of age, that I realized that I couldn’t, didn’t, didn’t want to, remember anything before my seventeenth birthday.

There were ghosts and demons lurking back there. Fear and hatred, confusion, disconnection, and failure.

Note: This took place in the 1950’s and 60’s and psychiatry and mental health were ridiculed topics in middle-class conversations. And my parents were products of an earlier, even less empathetic generation.

Maybe I should add a trigger warning here. Not that others haven’t been through worse, I was never physically abused. Psychological abuse is sneakier and harder to explain.

--

--