POETRY

Talking a Good Game

Free verse

James G Brennan
Paper Poetry
Published in
Dec 29, 2020

--

Photo: James G. Brennan.

There’s no doubt about it,
you almost had me believing you this time.
I stopped myself just before plunging
into that whirlpool of desire, I like to call hope.

There I was teetering on the edge, ready to dive in
before reason yanked me back; thank feck for reason!

I can’t be blamed really,
everyone wants those we believe to be close to
delivering every now and again, it would at least
validate the moth and the light bulb behaviour I’m so good at.

Although, I’m not sure if it’s desire;
or me being just plain lazy?

Thank you as always Suntonu Bhadra for giving my words a platform. 🙏🙏
Thank you all for reading and your precious time. Always. J. 🙏✨

--

--

James G Brennan
Paper Poetry

Writes free to read eclectic free verse poetry. "Everything in life is writable about" Sylvia Plath.