PAPER POETRY

That Unsent Letter

Paper Poetry Prompt#2

Sneha Mankar
Paper Poetry

--

That Unsent Letter (Sept 18, 2020): illustration by Sneha Mankar

I wrote a letter, a letter to you
stamped in my deepest heart,
acquainting the spectrum
full of unconscious emotions,
the spectrum, full of nectar
matching the perfect words
that lingers your name.

Sealed in the colorful stamps
the smoke spiraled from the postbox
igniting to pour my heart out,
with a single hint of the fragrance of the paper,
stroking in every letter, I formed.

With the thought, in everything, I write
I look for love in the distance that stretches between us.
In your name that I long to whisper against your skin.
In the uncertainty of what you feel for me.
In the promises, you never made to me.

Though the letter never got delivered to you
but I’ll still be sticking those stamps with honey
to my heart, to send it to the home of you,
perhaps it’s how you touch me with that letter
that unsent letter, written for your Eyes
that unsent letter, struggling for your Love
that unsent letter, longing for your Home.

© Sneha Mankar
Thank you for reading :)

In response to Paper Poetry Prompt#2 ‘Stamps’ by Gloria D. Gonsalves. Thank you, Gloria, for such creative prompt theme stamps and Suntonu Bhadra for letting me be a part of the Paper Poetry journey.

--

--

Sneha Mankar
Paper Poetry

Software Engineer at LTI. Writer and Poet. I write to speak of my mind to explore, believe, and live where I belong!