Let’s Go Musical at Paper Poetry

The Da-DUMs of My Earworm

Thanks a lot, William Shakespeare!

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readJun 27, 2022

--

An animated deer with musical notes around its ear against a metallic rainbow background.
Constructed by writer in Canva

I’ve not been one who’s musically inclined
My head’s a sieve that cannot hold a tune
Odd songs and melodies drift and combine
I wonder if I belong on the moon!

But then to my rescue came poetry
The musicality of Dr Seuss
A bridge to William Shakespeare’s comedies
His sonnets came next; damn earworm broke loose!

da-DUM da-DUM da-DUM da-DUM da-DUM
The constant pulse of iambic meter
It pounds away in my ears like a drum
It’s still there when I read the newspaper!

The music in the words makes sense to me
That’s what I learned in speech pathology.

© Carolyn Hastings 2022

For those that don’t know it, I’m a speech pathologist, so the sounds in words and the musicality of words have, for a long time, been front-of-brain for me.

But ever since I started writing sonnets 18 months ago, I’ve had an iambic earworm in my head! It’s like an unbalanced metronome. I only hope…

--

--

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry

Well-practiced speech pathologist now practicing to be a children’s book writer — emphasis on practicing.