Reveal The Light

The Hands That Know Me

A revelation in free verse

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readMar 11, 2024

--

A pencil illustration of outstretched hands, palm upwards accompanied by the handwritten words, ‘it’s his hands aglow in a divine halo’ below.
pencil illustration by author

I look up to
the figure in the window
cast in shades, shadows
of green, blue, brown, yellow
Daylight filters through from behind
light splinters, bends, blends
a subtle 3D illusion
I peer at his still face
fatherly wise immortal
eyes aloft, warm and soft
reassure me but
don’t hold me
It’s his hands
aglow in a divine halo
drawing my gaze down
to rest upon, in them
Palms cupped
rimmed brimmed with light
open reaching out
into the space between us
The hands know me
I feel their energy
how they affirm confirm
guide and uphold me
I too can be the light
may perpetual light shine
upon and from within me.

--

--

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry

Well-practiced speech pathologist now practicing to be a children’s book writer — emphasis on practicing.