iPoetry- Paper Poetry Prompt

The Poetic Ghost

Poem inspired by the prompt The Ghost of The Past

Priyanka Srivastava
Paper Poetry
Published in
1 min readOct 31, 2021

--

Illustration by Author

Now that memories have become that ghost which I have learnt to carry with me, I let them become those raindrops which drench the pages when there are clouds in the sky.

Memories, like that cotton which my grandmother would refill in the quilt for the winter, I can see them everywhere. I have become a ghost for my family in India; they remember me because of those memories and I, like that lone poet, will be forever writing about them in my poetry.

Poets, they know how to carry the weight of the memory, but in their words they will be that ghost which a true reader will notice.

Illustration inspired from one such memory of an Indian wedding which I attended few years back.

Inspired by the prompt Ghost of the past by Paper Poetry and iPoetry.

--

--

Priyanka Srivastava
Paper Poetry

Editor of Literary Impulse, Writer when I am free, Artist when my words are silent and reader when there are books which I love to read.