Unexpected at Paper Poetry

The Seed and Soil of Creativity

Oh, the interconnected unexpectedness!

Jenine Bsharah Baines
Paper Poetry
Published in
1 min readMay 30, 2024

--

Scribblings and doodles by poet

Tufts of alyssum
Seeds ride wind’s magic carpet
I think of the Muse
Poems rise from sidewalk cracks
Petals litter our keyboards

©Jenine Bsharah Baines 2024

I went outside yesterday to water the pots by my front door…and, voila, oh my goodness, at the foot of one of the planters I found two tiny tufts of alyssum. A favorite flower! A lovely surprise — and mystery because I’m not growing any at the moment.

Thank you, Indubala Kachhawa, for the prompt that seeded this tanka.

Congratulations, Carolyn Hastings, for your unexpected artistic affirmation and triumph!

Thank you, dearest readers, for dropping by. Love.

Jeni

please click here
if inclined
to ponder,
play,
dream, and sing
with me.

Thank you for subscribing.

--

--

Jenine Bsharah Baines
Paper Poetry

J…Jen…Jeni…Jenine... Proper names are poetry in the raw. (W.H. Auden) Poet, singer, seeker, hippie grandmother gleefully revealing herself