The Survival Song

A poem about love in difficult times

Priyanka Srivastava
Paper Poetry

--

image by Author

I could see them through the screen
The worry lines on their face
They tried to smile and talk about
other things but sadness they couldn’t hide.

I heard them like a curious kid
The stories which they weaved
the continuous distraction from
the topic I could see them
trying their best to hold it inside.

He can see that I am carrying it all
He knows the weight of those dark clouds
He knows quietly I am breaking inside
It’s strange how our face mirrors our emotions
However hard we try our eyes say it all.
Life may be difficult now but I know
together we will survive..

My parents in India are going through a tough time. This poem is inspired by the same. My son here can see that I am helpless in this situation. To be united by joy is nice but when sadness unites us it’s a different feeling.

This post is joining the Love in Difficult Times prompt by Paper Poetry Publication.

--

--

Priyanka Srivastava
Paper Poetry

Editor of Literary Impulse, Writer when I am free, Artist when my words are silent and reader when there are books which I love to read.