Exploring Contrasting Views

Walking in the Rain

I didn’t sign up for this!

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry
Published in
2 min readJul 21, 2022

--

A hand-drawn caricature of a dripping wet dog sitting in a puddle of water.
pencil illustration and photo by writer

Glorious rain!
ka-ping, ka-ping, ka-ping
It stimulates my scalp
I feel so alive!

Effing rain!
Schmalch, schmalch, schmalch
It makes my skin itch
I must get inside!

Walking in the rain
A font from the heavens
Bless me, Lord my Maker
There’s really nothing better

Drowning in the rain
A fate worse than hell
Chilled from snout to caboose
I didn’t sign up for this!

I love the smell of rain
The earth is birthed anew
A rainbow in the clouds
The sun is shining through

Rain makes me pong
There’s really nothing worse
Wet dog eau de cologne
I do believe I’m cursed!

© Carolyn Hastings 2022

Some dogs really don’t enjoy being wet. In fact, they loathe it. My son’s dog is one of…

--

--

Carolyn Hastings
Paper Poetry

Well-practiced speech pathologist now practicing to be a children’s book writer — emphasis on practicing.