We Don’t Talk

A Poetry Series | Part 1 | Words

Lubna Yusuf
Paper Poetry

--

Image Art Illustration: Lubna Yusuf

I make words
A letter, a poem, a story
Page after page
Because I have so much to tell you
But you won’t listen, you aren’t here

We won’t meet again
We will never look into each other’s eyes
Like we used to
You will never hold me again
And I will never be able to know
what went wrong
But this is not about me.

It is to say it is okay
I don’t miss you
Yet
because I’m still waiting to stop thinking of you

We don’t talk in words
but I paint you my heart,
So this time you don’t get to break it
And I can colour it, over and over again
From black and blue to a deep red
In all colours of earth
for time to hold and grow flowers
from where you buried me
without love.

This is the first part of a series I have been working on called ‘We don’t talk’. The idea is to explore the space where we go numb and put words, colour, and form to an emptiness called grief. This is to un-break and rise above everything weighing us down.

This is also the first time I am trying a fiction series, so let me know your thoughts on this!

Thank you for your love, support, claps and appreciation. It always cheers me up to read feedback from you.

You may like to read:

--

--

Lubna Yusuf
Paper Poetry

BOOKS: www.amazon.com/author/lubnayusuf | Author, Lawyer, Filmmaker, Multidisciplinary Artist |Co-author TheAIBook | Instagram @iglubna