We Don’t Talk

A Poetry Series | Part 2 | Tears

Lubna Yusuf
Paper Poetry

--

Line Art Illustration Lubna Yusuf

We don’t talk
I weep alone, wipe my own tears
And I weep some more
The tears have dried
I tell myself it is okay,
I’m here

I don’t know what to hold when I sleep
So I hold my hand and sing myself a song
Without words
And I weep some more
Till the heart beats aloud

I catch my breath
To weep no more
Only to remember,
There is no place left
That doesn’t remind me of you

This is the second part of a series I have been working on called ‘We don’t talk’. The idea is to explore the space where we go numb and put words, colour, and form to an emptiness called grief. This is to un-break and rise above everything weighing us down. This is also the first time I am trying a fiction series, so let me know your thoughts on this!

The first part of ‘We Don’t Talk’ is here:

Thank you Paper Poetry for this space here and for all your heartfelt content. Thank you dear readers, for your love, support, claps and appreciation. It always cheers me up to read feedback from you.

--

--

Lubna Yusuf
Paper Poetry

BOOKS: www.amazon.com/author/lubnayusuf | Author, Lawyer, Filmmaker, Multidisciplinary Artist |Co-author TheAIBook | Instagram @iglubna