LET’S GO MUSICAL AT PAPER POETRY

Well Earned Rest in the Afternoon Sun

In ottava rima

William J Spirdione
Paper Poetry
Published in
4 min readJun 30, 2022

--

(rough draft) Photo by William J Spirdione

I look back squinting, in case it was not
what I did really think that I do see.
Look down again into the eyes of what
was this red rodent staring back at me.
What’s in his cute white paws? What has he brought?
Some small and shiny gift that couldn’t be.
So painfully, I crawl off from this chair.
I smash my walker down. This isn’t fair.

And suddenly, this daydream I wake from
some hearing that I’m hearing something on.
Election workers try to get it done.
Just doing work when everybody’s gone.
They count away while we beat on this drum
and try to be fair when curtains are drawn.
A thump and suddenly we’re face to face
then quickly, Red thumps again, just in case.

I clank my way across the great divide
and chase this little critter. He looks back.
I somehow shrink, completely mystified.
Now I’m in trouble. I sure have that knack.
The suspect squirrel looks at me resigned…

--

--

William J Spirdione
Paper Poetry

William J Spirdione is a poet who writes sonnets and more about nature and the humans within it.