iPoetry-Paper Poetry Prompt

Your Ghost And Me

Free Verse

Paroma Sen
Paper Poetry
Published in
1 min readOct 28, 2021

--

Image made by author using Canva

Your ectoplasm hangs around
like a sheer curtain of fog,
like the remnants of blurry eyes
That morning after…

Four thousand six hundred and fifty-nine
days have passed
since you left us, speechless
Wanting more to succumb than to fight

So, tell me now
How long before I can let you go?
Before I stop seeing your ghost
reflecting off every surface around me

Your smell hangs around
Like the burned end of a shriveled cigar
Or a hint of jasmine, the flowers you
commandeered to adorn your hair

The folds of your sari
undulate outside the window
entrancing me decades after,
like I’m still four years old

I’m still trying to hack at kindness
Failing deeply, flailing wildly
clutching at straws still
desperate to find a foothold

--

--

Paroma Sen
Paper Poetry

“Do not go gentle into that good night, but rage, rage, rage against the dying of the light.”