HAPPYMOVIE — On The Fence

“A contemplative and eerie day in the lives of the electro duo happymovie as we follow them outside (the music), inside (the music), and even further into the very heart of the music.”

Papercut Magazine
Published in
2 min readFeb 17, 2016

--

Words by JOSEPH GHALEB

On The Genesis

I knew each of the band members from previous collaborations and projects. In the past, Mikael Tobias was in a project called Flicker State which I directed / shot the music video for one of their songs called “Agora”. As for Tim Gowdy, I met him on the set of my best friends short film; I was Production Assistant and Tim was the sound recorder.

On Collaboration

It was actually a perfect hybrid of both our visions and interests. I initially asked them questions about what kind of imagery the song evoked or how it made them feel, and after a couple brainstorming sessions we immediately saw that my cinematic and impressionistic sensibilities were going to be a good fit for the kind of ambience and conceptual narrative we were interested in exploring.

On Visual Style

I have been told that my style is very sensual, poetic and dreamy. I guess the intensity of the sensory world has always made me feel like a mutant at times, yet totally at peace with it if that makes any sense. The more videos I shoot and direct. the closer I get to finding out who I am as a filmmaker or photographer. I suppose there is a high meticulous attention to detail in my work and devotion in arousing the meditative / the aesthetic regardless of the subject. I love hypnotizing :)

On Passion

The only thing I can think of is how much passion and energy we all put into making this video clip. The music inspired me so much that it made me want to give the project lots of love; I directed the film, shot it, edited it, and created all the Visual FX. To be trusted like that by the musicians is a blessing.

As a filmmaker (or artist in general) who works with clients or simply collaborates with other artists, I will say that knowing who you are and how to communicate your vision before and during the production is massively important; being clear with yourself and others, while of course leaving room for improv, will really pave a harmonious path for you, your client and / or your collaborators.

Directing, Cinematography, & Editing by JOSEPH GHALEB

Starring : TIM GOWDY & MIKAEL TOBIAS

Produced by HAPPYMOVIE VFX

To view more of Joseph’s work, visit his website

--

--