My 9-to-5: Stylist Alvin Stillwell

Fashion Stylist Alvin Stillwell Talks Oscars and Photoshoots

Jennifer Ortakales
Papercut Magazine
Published in
3 min readMar 12, 2014

--

Stylist Alvin Stillwell has dressed stars from Darwin Shaw to Eva Longoria and just wrapped up another successful Oscars season. He styled the editorial “Transistor” in our Man Up issue and now he tells us a little bit about his career and the inspiration behind the shoot.

Where do you live and where are you from?

I live in Seattle and Los Angeles.

How long have you been a stylist? How did you get started?

I have worked in the editorial and advertising world since 1998.

Kathryna Hancock

Who are the most notable people, labels, or publications you’ve styled for?

Elle, Vanity Fair, L’officiel, Glamour, People, and Wired are some of my editorial clients.

Target, Diet Coke, Nordstrom, Nike, Nintendo, adidas, Pendleton, AT&T, and Microsoft are some of my advertising clients.

What was your inspiration behind the editorial, “Transistor,” featured in our menswear issue?

The inspiration to the wardrobe story I put together for the “Transistor” feature on the latest Papercut menswear issue is architecture. Our shoot location, the iconic Disney Concert Hall by Frank Gehry in downtown Los Angeles, really dictated what the wardrobe should be. I wanted to feature strong shapes and a minimal color story. A masculine and edited black and white story, but playing with different textiles (silk, wool, python, leather, denim, laminated cotton, and various knits).

Martin Rusch

How often do you work on photoshoots each week?

I absolutely love what I do and so if I am not on set working on a shoot, I am conceptualizing, researching, and planning my next project.

Awards season is a busy time for you. What shows aside from the Oscars do you style for? Who did you dress this season?

Oscars week was a bit frenetic this year. I was triple booked that week, so in addition to styling two Oscar nominated filmmakers for the big night, I was also styling an ad campaign for Target in Palm Springs and a commercial video shoot with Delta Airlines at LAX. Thanks to my strong assistants and a very supportive agency. I hibernated for a few days after that week!

Alexander Leking

What do you enjoy doing in your free time?

On my free time, I travel voraciously. Whenever I have a bit of time in between projects, I try and wander for a bit. Recently, I spent Christmas in Cuba and New Years in Mexico City. I had a blast and came back super inspired.

On a night off, would you rather go out to a club with friends or stay in and watch a movie?

On a night off, I will share a meal with friends and loved ones. Go to cultural events, or see theater.

Please fill out your schedule for a typical weekday.

As far as a “9–5” hour by hour play, it changes daily. If I am on set, then it depends on when our call time is. Part of being self employed is that you never know what your schedule is going to be like. My work is un-traditional in that way.

To see more of Stillwell’s work, visit his website at www.alvinstillwell.com.

--

--