NOCTURNES

Papercut Magazine
Papercut Magazine
Published in
2 min readMar 22, 2016

--

NOCTURNES (2015) is a behind-the-scenes reportage from a pre-season preparations of the FJK Dance ballet troupe based in New York. I am a fine art and documentary photographer and I like to take a fine art approach when I document my subjects. The content matters as much as the visual appeal. I had always dreamed about photographing ballet and that dream was finally realized when I got access to the FJK rehearsals thanks to my friend who is one of the ballerinas.

I photographed the group as they rehearsed and then performed at New York Live Arts. The title NOCTURNES comes from one my favorite Chopin’s works but is also linked directly to those dark and moody photographs that I see as nightly poems. Besides, one of Chopin’s nocturnes was used by FJK Dance for their 2015 season performances. I wanted to create something classic and timeless, something beautiful and mysterious.

Words and Photographs by Luc Kordas

Luc Kordas is a Fine Art, Portrait, and Fashion Photographer based in New York. To view more of his work you can visit his website.

--

--