Off The Record: DJ Constar

This is another edition of Off The Record, where we follow DJs from around the world to see what life is really like on the 1s and 2s. Up next is New York DJ Constar represented by The Mothership Agency.

Papercut Magazine
Papercut Magazine
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2016

--

Monday (April 18th)

Monday is back to the office for me. Had four gigs this past weekend so I spent Sunday recuperating. I Played at an after-hours on Friday at 3am for an extended 6 hour set. At that hour I play mostly techno. Friday Night I was spinning for a Bernie Sanders fundraiser at Louie & Chan in the city. It was fun to play 80s hiphop, which I never get a chance to spin. Saturday night I was at a local hotspot in Williamsburg: TBA. It’s an intimate lounge/bar that prides itself on the music and DJs they host. Sunday I played all day at Member’s Only, a trendy outdoor after-hours hang out with beautiful people and beautiful music, mostly deep house.

Tuesday (April 19th)

Bass lessons at 3:30pm per usual. Just started lessons a month ago. It’s quite challenging actually. I Can’t wait to play well and do a set with live bass!

Wednesday (April 20th)

I had a Skype meeting with my agent Marilu to discuss South America tour dates for the Summer. It’s been a year since I’ve visited there. Hoping for a revisit to Brazil, Argentina, Ecuador and Colombia, and a few other countries too. Fingers crossed…

Thursday (April 21st)

Thursday evenings are usually production days. I’ve been making house/techno music for over 5 years, with digital releases on Beatport, and 4 vinyl releases. In this industry, it’s really important to be more than “just a DJ”. We have to constantly produce and try new live performance ideas, since there is so much competition out there now.

Friday (April 22nd)

I decided to take it easy this weekend. Besides preparing a set for my gig Saturday, I will stop by Halcyon record store to check out some new releases on vinyl. When I started Djing there was only vinyl. My how times have changed! I Also finalized my flight for Croatia which I got through my Resolute affiliation! I am confirmed to play Lighthouse Festival at end of May. Can’t wait!

Saturday (April 23rd)

I’m spinning at Verboten nightclub in Williamsburg. It has an underground warehouse feel with a more mainstream audience. The main room is fun to play in. The sound is top notch and people always dance. I am playing with Julia Niko and Lauren Ritter, two colleagues of mine. Tonight is Brooklyn showcase night.

Sunday (April 24th)

Just Chill!

To hear some of Connie’s tunes, follow her on Soundcloud and Facebook.

--

--