Paper Inspiration

Designer Venera Kazarova harnesses her paper power to create intricate fashion creations

Papercut Magazine
Papercut Magazine
Published in
2 min readJan 27, 2016

--

My inspiration comes from interesting shapes. They are truly my Muse. I can see The Dress in anything, even in a stain of tea. Any distinct shape can be transformed into a dress inside my mind.

Photo by Evgenia Boyarskaya / Design by Venera Kazarova / Model: Kristina Mavrina @Aquarelle models

The shape and texture of plants inspire me immensely, and one in particular is the texture of the interior of the mushroom cap; I have a series of paper cut-out dresses inspired by this texture alone.

Photo by Evgenia Boyarskaya / Design by Venera Kazarova / Model: Kristina Mavrina @Aquarelle models

Images also come from my dreams, and I am able to recreate my dreams by incorporating them into my collections. In my dreams, my costumes are surrounded by a luminous halo; they shine. I often use fabrics imitating this effect as my attempt to portray the effect of non-reality.

Photo by Evgenia Boyarskaya / Design by Venera Kazarova / Model: Kristina Mavrina @Aquarelle models

It is important for me to convey the state of a fairy tale, from which everything is exposed. I often infuse my joyful and infantile creations into hard realistic settings in my projects.

It’s my way of reassuring myself that the world is not evil.

Photo by Evgenia Boyarskaya / Design by Venera Kazarova / Model: Kristina Mavrina @Aquarelle models
Photo by Evgenia Boyarskaya / Design by Venera Kazarova / Model: Kristina Mavrina @Aquarelle models

To see more of Venera’s work, visit her website.

--

--