Close Up — hi rez 2 collage 8x11 2016

Sinister Intrusion

Papercut Magazine
Papercut Magazine
Published in
2 min readFeb 22, 2019

--

Artwork & Words by Deborah Stevenson

I knew someone who became seriously unwell. She told me one day our phone was tapped by the CIA who were spying on her, listening in on phone calls, plotting against her. She was removed to a place where surveillance and lack of privacy was the norm. This involved physical restraint and shocks to the brain, the seat of the self. This woman was my mother, so I suppose it’s natural for my art to reflect a certain preoccupation with this theme, in particular with imagery pertaining to being female in a world dominated by men and their gaze.Y

I believe a primal need for all humans is the need for privacy. To be with one’s self, and safely so. To me, surveillance connotes sinister intrusion. It is not neutral, it is not innocent. It is intentional and it is dangerous.

My personal experience metaphorically applies to everyone everywhere, now more than ever. Are we ever alone? Or is there a drone catching us in its crosshairs? Is there someone hacking our lives? Tracking our movements? Listening in on our conversations?

There is overly watching, and there is watching over. The mutability of these two things is confusing. Are we protected or are we targeted? How do we know what to trust?

From how far out in space can we be observed? Where is it safe?

The nuns told us that God sees and knows everything we do and feel and think. I do not believe in that, but I do know the chilling truth: someone very well might.

Checkout more Deborah’s work on her website: deborahstevenson.com or follow her on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

--

--