The Muse: Leona Lengyel

Designer Leona Lengyel combines painting and fashion to create one-of-kind luxury scarves

Papercut Magazine
Papercut Magazine

--

Words by Leona Lengyel

My love for art and design started at an early age in Hungary where I was born and raised in a very creative family of jewellers. My artist’s name, ‘Léna’ was created when I began experimenting with painting in oil and acrylic. In the last couple of years I mixed my love affair with painting and my passion for fashion accessories and I launched my label in 2012. I am based in London and offer exquisite silk and rayon scarves, beach sarongs, wraps and pocket squares, all of which are recognised for their exquisite luxury.

Design Process

Many of my designs are based on personal experiences and observations of life around me. I express my thoughts and feelings through colours. I hand paint every design with traditional silk painting techniques. Each original image is digitally transformed onto luxurious silk satin, silk chiffon or rayon for a high quality, super soft accessory that also acts as a piece of wearable art. All my scarves are printed and finished in England.

Inspiration

The inspiration of my Sky is The Limit Collection was the power of our dreams. I expressed this with using vibrant mystic purples and seductive greens. Each design symbolizes the limitless of creativity and the faith in miracles. In the game of life we all have different challenges and it is our choice what we focus on. I do believe that limit exists only in the mind.

Sky is the limit

I have placed a woman in the centre with the open faith, believing in endless possibilities. The design uses seductive emerald green hues to turn heads and create a striking accessory. Shades of pure and vibrant green blend together throughout the original design that showcases the natural beauty of the hand painted creative process.

Beyond the end

‘Beyond the end’ features an entrancing design inspired by the seemingly never-ending spirit of creativity. Deep, electric blues play out alongside magical shades of violet and purple for a look that is romantic and sophisticated, ideal for the modern woman.

Room with a view

This eye-catching piece blends hazy shades of buttercup yellow with hot orange, pink and red hues to illustrate the sky hanging above the city. The vibrant emerald tint and soft shapes of the buildings on the skyline opens out into a dreamy green-yellow landscape.

Rainbow maker

This design features washes of deep blues and soft pinks inspired by the infinite colours and shades of light that I see from my London studio. Whether it is a beautiful sunrise or a storm rolling in, I am fascinated with the infinite colours and the contrast of light.

View The Entire Collection On Lena’s Website.

--

--