A TINY BIT OF ALAKAZAM

A conversation with Mentalist Arjun Guru

Nikita Mallya
PaperKin
4 min readOct 18, 2018

--

It’s not all the time that you get to talk with people you’ve admired a pretty long time. Naturally, when you do get that chance, you make sure that it’s the most fantabulous interview the universe will ever see. Having successfully delivered the most epic monologue of all time, I present to you my conversation with the one and only Arjun Guru.

1)It’s not often that we find talented young mentalists from Kerala. How and when did you find this interest?

Well, I consider myself pretty fortunate to have gotten into the craft very early on. I prefer to go by Psychological Illusionist rather than mentalist. The first moment of spark that I felt for the art was when I was 8 or 9 years old and saw a performer on TV. Ever since that night it’s been an obsession of mine and been one of those constants throughout life so far.

2)All right, in that case, not only are you a fantastic Psychological Illusionist, but you are also a self-taught fantastic Psychological Illusionist. How did you manage to learn the craft?

Aww, that’s very sweet of you. I believe anyone can teach themselves anything as long as they are passionate and dedicated enough. There are enough books and resources available in this day and age to whomsoever is ready to seek it out. I actually started off with sleight of hand magic. My first reference book was “101 classical magic tricks” which my dad got me for my 10th birthday. I think it is still available. It took me 2–3 years to learn most of it, but it was worth it.

3)What were the challenges you had to overcome when you decided to pursue this field?

The primary challenge I faced was convincing my parents that this was a good idea, which wasn’t easy because it isn’t what you call a “conventional profession”. But once they saw that I was dedicated and that I started to do pretty well for myself they became exceptionally supportive which is really important when you are doing something on your own.

4)Tell us a bit about your first show…

IT WAS A DISASTER! — As I said I started off doing close-up magic and later switched into mentalism. The very first stage I got on to perform was in 2014 and I wanted to do this amazing thing where I tried and guessed the ATM Pin.…..while solving a cube. Not only didn’t I guess the PIN wrong but I also screwed up with the cube while simultaneously breaking each and every rule of stagecraft. That experience completely eliminated any stage fear I had while teaching me by experience what not to do in a stage show.

5) Thank the Gods for THAT, because now when you do a show, you always manage to make your audience go, “Whaa-a-a?” What’s your secret?

Misdirection, Charisma and a huge load of luck 😉

6)If you were to pinpoint a single memorable experience from your career so far, what would it be?

It’s probably doing a show at IITD and BITS Goa in 2015. This was an amazing moment for me because these were the big colleges that my parents wanted me to get in but I couldn’t, and now I was invited to perform there. #proudofmyself

7) Ohh Haha, that is so relatable! One of your most fantastic achievements was the accurate prediction of the FIFA 2018 Results. I have no other means of putting this: what sorcery is this?!

I’m glad that turned out right too, what a relief. I could say that all the statistics I did for college came to use finally, but then again, I might be lying.

8)Of course, you could be. Now, what are your dreams for the future?

I want to be one of the most successful performers in the country, I would love to have my own TV Show and want to be able to enable other people to do what they love and pursue their passions, by being an example to them.

9) We are all very excited that you are visiting our college for Bridging Realms, Excel 2018. Do you have any surprises in store?

Absolutely, and I will not ruin it for you :P

10)Lastly, purely out of curiosity, can you predict the questions for this year’s final KTU paper? Just for fun.

I could, but then that’s illegal, isn’t it? However, I might consider it for a Billion Dollars!

NB:- You heard the man. Anyone with access to a billion dollars, or perhaps a bank vault, get in touch. Like, RIGHT NOW!

--

--

Nikita Mallya
PaperKin

Product @ Tesla | Living my dreams, one at a time ❤️ | Product, Tech, Content