Change

Asherthomas
PaperKin
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2024

In a fleeting second, the hallway flipped,

the mirrors cracked and the lights dimmed.

Setting once thought so firm,

Laid in ashes and dust.

Tranquility I toiled so hard to keep,

Swept away in a gust.

What might be this phenomenon?

the destroyer of my peace.

Why is the reality I struggled to keep

lying around in pieces?

What might I call this shift

That turned off my senses so keen.

How can I pass this rift

And return to what had been.

Once again, the corridor shifts

struggled to keep my balance but was so swift.

My life so gloomy and decadent

had me writhing in pain for decades.

The sudden glimmers of light

made me wonder how it got so bright.

Once again puzzled I was,

what is going on I thought.

Is it the works of the devils or gods

That brought the end to the battles I fought.

As I moved forward the hallway gazed

Steadfast as I was, I remained unfazed.

One word echoed through the walls,

The answer you seek is within these halls.

A whisper so quiet echoed from the ground

Trembling and afraid I looked around.

The feeble sound was a word so small.

As small as it was maybe the greatest of all.

“Change,” it told me was what I was searching for

To not be still and keep moving on!

Enjoyed reading this story? Here is an interesting article from our side:

Tangled Fate. The whale who loved the sparrow, | by Anirudh | PaperKin | Medium

Follow us on Medium (PaperKin) for more fun and exciting content. For more updates find us on Instagram, Twitter and LinkedIn.

Are you an aspiring writer and want to publish with us? Leave a message at paperkinsocial@gmail.com or let us know on any of our social media. We will reach out to you soon!

--

--