Myself, A Little Girl

Arya Parameswaran
PaperKin
Published in
3 min readJun 27, 2020
Jo and Amy from the movie Little Women

“ Jo expressed her desire to have Arabian steeds, rooms piled high with books, and I’d write out of a magic inkstand so that my works should be as famous as Laurie’s music. ”

~Little Women

I still remember the day I read the famous classic “Little Women” by Louisa May Alcott. I was around 14 when I borrowed the book from a library. The very first chapter itself drew me into the book which told the stories of four sisters and their family, whom I grew to love over the years. The story is still fresh in my heart even though I did not read it again until recently. Even after reading many other books, I still find this book much captivating. Each time I read Little Women, I am filled with an immense sense of happiness and joy that is hard to describe in words.

“ Little Women” has influenced me to a great deal as a growing girl. I consider myself lucky enough to have read this epic classic at the perfect time; when I was just as old as the characters. The four sisters with different characters have been my friends from the very first chapter. I learned a lot from them and their family and gradually developed a feel as though I grew up with them. And I loved and loved the character of little Jo who remained one of my favourite fictional characters.

Even though my love for all the sisters were alike, that for Jo is much much greater. And the reason for that is quite simple. Her thoughts and attitude were so relatable and I saw myself in her every time I read the book. She is the bravest and the boldest character who did things in her way. Although she is a girl who lived inside books and loved writing, she never let go of reality. She believed in the power of women and their independence and wished to be a great writer. Every time I read about her I had a sense of affection in my heart towards her. A part of Jo will always be in my heart and I will nourish that forever.

As I came to know that the film adaptation of the novel was going to be released in 2019, I remember being overjoyed by the news that I could actually “see” one of my favourite stories. But I hesitated a little… I had a beautiful world of Little Women in my mind which is so special for me. What if the film is entirely different from that? I couldn’t bear to see the little world that I loved dearly, shattered by taking it to another level.

Nevertheless, I was immensely curious to see it. After much hesitation and doubt, I saw the movie and I can’t describe how beautiful it was. It was better than anything I had ever imagined! The film was exceptionally beautiful and charming. The attractive sceneries from the 19th-century countryside are a visual treat. The characters were portrayed warmly and in every way real as I imagined them to be. Jo stole my heart again and made me love her even more. And I got lost in “Little Women ” all over again.

I’d suggest every girl read this book at least once in her life for I can guarantee that the story is something every girl would be able to relate to. Even though the book was published in the late 1860s, even if you read this book a hundred years from now, you would still find at least a tiny bit of one of the sisters in yourself. An eternal classic! This story will forever be in my heart no matter how old I become.

Follow us on Medium to get the latest updates on stories and catchy poems and on social media to stay in the loop! Follow us on Instagram (@paperkin_blog) and Twitter(@kin_paper)! Also, write to us in the mail about stories you wanna read or re-read at paperkinsocial@gmail.com!

--

--