Pearls

Durga MS
PaperKin
Published in
Nov 11, 2020

She cried from inside

Where is my pearl?

“You look beautiful

That body holds wonders”

Do you love me though?

“I do, your body, that’s you”

What if it’s not me?

“It is you; you’re not worth more

It’s a shell, a fragile shell”

But what about the pearl inside?

“Not looking for pearls, only for shells,

To break.”

She hears a crack

Do I hold more value?

“Yes you do. Strip”

Am I making you happy?

“Yes you are. Strip”

I won’t, is that okay?

“No. Strip”

What about my no?

“I’ll trample you under my feet”

I don’t break, I have my pearls.

“You are just a whore”

What is a whore?

Is that a word for Princess?

He laughs “you’re a little whore”.

Little Princess.

Am I making you happy?

“Strip”.

Where are my pearls?

Liked the poem? Jump onto our ‘PaperRhymes’ section to read more such poems! Here’s a cute one from our side:

Follow us on Medium (PaperKin) to get updates on all our latest stories and catchy poems and join us on social media to stay in the loop! Follow us on Instagram (@paperkin_blog), Twitter (@kin_paper) and also on LinkedIn (PaperKin)!

--

--