Plum cakes and the rest of human race

Disclaimer: This article is not meant to offend the lovers of plum cakes

Ema Arun
PaperKin
5 min readDec 26, 2020

--

Let me begin with the reason for bringing out this article on the day after Christmas.

Christmas is a day of hope, love, and joy. I must say it was one merry day in the entirety of 2020. Everyone was busy making videos of decorations and carols, sending gifs, broadcasted Christmas messages and replying to those, unwrapping presents, and I can’t really think of all the other crazy stuff I did last night. And I am assuming that pretty much everyone would have been engaged in similar activities. It is Christmas after all! In that case, despite the fact that I had no time, had I brought out this deep issue, no one would have paid any concern! This is a global issue my friends.

You must have already guessed. This article is about how the majority of the world population does not show a happy face towards plum cakes. Ironic how in spite of being around for over 300 years, it still hasn’t managed to gain a positive social image yet!

Here is a brief history.

Plum cake refers to a wide range of cakes made with either dried fruit (such as black currents, raisins, prunes or dates) or with fresh fruit. There is a wide range of popular plum cakes and puddings. Since the meaning of the word “plum” has changed over time, many items referred to as plum cakes and popular in England since at least the eighteenth century have now become known as fruitcakes.

Just a few yummy looking plum cakes I found on the internet

Plum cakes made with fresh plums came with other migrants from other traditions in which plum cake is prepared using plum as a primary ingredient. Yes you read it right! The plum cakes we get over here mostly does not contain any actual “plum”.

In some versions, the plums may become jam-like inside the cake after cooking. You know, more of like a pie. Plum cake prepared with plums is also a part of Ashkenazi Jewish cuisine, and is referred to as Pflaumenkuchen or Zwetschgenkuchen.

An image of Zwetschgenkuchen from Austria. Source: Wikipedia

I know you lazy ones didn’t even bother reading those last two words. It’s alright. Neither did I.

And from the images, I could find out that the ancestors, of our rival, looked pretty good and yum.

In India plum cake has been served around the time of the Christmas holiday season and may have additional ingredients such as rum or brandy added. Yes! That is my point. Conveying it through a quick poem I made-

Christmas bells are ringing,

My calling bell is ringing,

Guests coming hour after hour,

Saying here is a plum cake from ours to yours!

Technically, there exists no issue with a plum cake. I mean, think about it. It is sweet. It has got nuts and raisins. And a lot more of Unidentifiable-Fruity-Objects which may or may not be pieces of orange, dates, and things I have no clue about. As soon as the Christmas season starts, these plum cakes start flooding every home under tags of gifted, to be gifted, for guests, for us.

Okay, that one does look a bit yummy…

But a thought I had always had in my mind as a child was- gifting is sweet and all, but why can’t they gift chocolate cakes or something!

Exactly same was the thought, RJ Alex from the 104 Mirchi FM, shared on his evening show yesterday. I was travelling to my mom’s house at Ernakulam while I listened to his much relatable thoughts about plum cakes. And I must say, that is when I had finalized my decision to write this article.

I had also spoken to a couple of my friends and cousins about this and what I could find was that it was not just me. Almost all my friends hated plum cakes alike! Among cousins, I could see that the ones at the upper end of the age spectrum preferred it over the other cakes. Unbelievable but yes! My grand mom actually preferred a slice of plum cake over the chocolate cake.

Hence, the conclusion I have made is that, plum cakes are the most easily available ‘edible’ gifts available for the season, which is suitable for all ages, easily portable and designed to last long which implies, you have no way out of it. Sorry guys :/

Winding up, considering and digesting the facts that the cakes at home will last for another two weeks and the concept of gifting plum cakes is not going to get replaced for yet another 100 years, I have two suggestions to give you all:

1. Plum cakes aren’t that bad when you don’t consider them as cakes. When you keep your expectations low, the world becomes brighter! They are perfect for a snack and will give you something to chew on while bored and also fills your stomach with healthy stuff :D (Honestly, they aren’t that bad! I have started liking them lately. Guess I’m moving up the age spectrum:/)

2. Try an alternate! Personally, I have liked this one particular plum cake. The Rich Plum Cake- I know it sounds royal, and it actually tastes better than the normal plum cakes. They are fudgier and yummier. If you have not absolutely gone against plum cakes yet, this is a must try. Don’t worry. They will be still there in your nearby bakery until new year.

Or, follow our RJ Alex’s advice and be generous enough to ask the ones you are gifting if they like plum cakes or not. If they do, go right ahead! If not, find another yummy substitute(#trendsetting). Let us keep everyone happy this season. Merry Christmas once again everyone😊!

And that’s all for today! Come back every Monday and Friday to see fresh, new articles on recent topics and events!

Or, here’s a simpler way. Follow us on Medium (PaperKin) and join us on social media to stay in the loop! Follow us on Instagram(@paperkin_blog), Twitter(@kin_paper) and LinkedIn (PaperKin) too!

Here’s one from our side:

Let us know you reviews on paperkinsocial@gmail.com

--

--