Wrong

Pavithra Hari
PaperKin
Published in
3 min readJun 1, 2018

Life might seem unfair to a few;
Totally blissful to some.
The sun sets here,
While the morning bells ring over there.

People say that’s how it is.
Yet, why do I feel incomplete ?
It’s not about being pessimistic.
Neither is it about greed.

It feels incomplete,
Like a haphazard puzzle;
With pieces scattered all over…

To set it right,
I rummage through everything,
To collect all that I have lost and all that I will ever need.
Discovering each piece shot up my happiness,
Clutching onto every single piece that grabbed my attention;
Whether they would serve their purpose or not, was now, a question out of my league.

Curiosity pinched me to assemble those I have got,
And I still regret that decision.
I held all those pieces close to me,
To wipe out the fear of losing them.
I laid all those down,
And began to arrange.

I always thought accumulation would be the toughest job,
And to put them right would be just too simple,
Again I was wrong.
I was overwhelmed with pride,
With the ones piled up, I had already assured myself;
That I would soon witness my picture, half beautiful.
Again I was wrong.
I tried correlating each and every piece;
But unfortunately, none of them matched.
Nevertheless, I was still happy.
Because I had gathered a lot of pieces,
Which I assumed was the toughest job.
Neither did it cross my mind to collect more,
Nor did it hit me that all that glitters ain’t gold.

Gradually, the truth dawned upon me;
It wasn’t about having a lot,
It’s all about possessing the right ones.
Life is not about being balanced,
It won’t set right unless you find the right one.
It isn’t easy;
Don’t settle yourself with the wrong ones,
Don’t feel satiated with a few pieces that you have collected,
There’s a lot more lying around,
Won’t just catch your eye in a quick glance,
Search for them, again and again;
Until your last breath,
Because you never know when you would find the right one.

And that right piece can change everything,
It will help you frame the picture that you have envisaged,
That will give you the real happiness.
The real comfort,
and that exquisitely paved road to success.
Again, you think that is it?
No, you are wrong.
You will still lose pieces, but by that time,
You would have mastered the art of living.
Yes, not just surviving.
LIVING.

--

--