Why the new year season sucks

An alternative point of view to new year

Rukshan
Colombo LK
2 min readApr 13, 2018

--

A large crowd is seen on the streets in Kandy, busy with Avurudu shopping. via @rocketruwan

I used to enjoy the new year when I was a child, the weather was great, school vacation, time to enjoy with relatives and family members, it was the best time of the year.

But this year I felt that the new year season is royally messed up. I had to travel to Colombo for two days and the whole Colombo to Kandy main road was a chock of block. I take usually 1 hour and 30 minutes to reach Colombo from my home and these two days it took me more than 3 hours.

And along the way, people seemed to shop like crazy. As if there is not going to be any food or clothes left in this world after the new year.

Before the new year, I made a decision not to buy anything new as long as I don’t have any need for them. I have plenty of clothes that I got during Christmas time and even with the great deals and discounts I only bought items that I didn’t have.

The economic loss to the country during new year maybe close to a billion rupees.

I am not sure if anyone has done a research on the economic impact the new year is having on the country. Not only the unnecessary spending but also the money being lost to the economy for not going to work for 2 days, the time and fuel being lost during traveling in heavy traffic. I guess the amount must be close to billion rupees.

Most of the items that we buy for the new year are being imported from various different countries and most of the money that we spend is most likely going to end up in a foreign country.

I guess it should be a good thing for people to roll back and reflect on what they are doing during the new year and maybe cut down the unwanted spending, maybe not to have a holiday for the new year during weekdays but celebrating it on a weekend with your family members, after all new year is a time to spend with your loved one and not about clothes and food.

It will be a good research if someone finds out the economic impact on the country due to the new year season. Do you agree with this point of view or disagree? Tweet me @justruky

--

--

Rukshan
Colombo LK

I'm a blogger and I'm interested in technology, startups and making new things. ✌