“Death in Paradise” News

Ralf Little, on the record, talks about his “Death in Paradise” character

What does Ralf Little have to say about D.I. Neville Parker?

Shain E. Thomas
Paradise Unlocked
Published in
7 min readFeb 2, 2024

--

Ralf Little, portraying D.I. Neville Parker, is the longest serving actor playing a detective inspector seen in Death in Paradise. Conversely, mainly because he was an episode guest star, the shortest serving actor playing a detective on Death in Paradise was Hugo Speer. Speer, appearing as a guest star in the series premiere “Arriving in Paradise”, played D.I. Charlie Hulme for less than ten minutes screen time.

Little, as D.I. Neville Parker, made his Death in Paradise detective inspector debut on Thursday, 6 Feb. 2020 in Richard Signy’s “Switcharoo”. Questions have been put to Little on how he feels about his character and the direction the series is going.

How does it feel to be a part of that milestone?

Episode sixty nine was my first as D.I. Neville Parker, which is (almost) 7/10ths of the way to one hundred. So, the bulk of it was already there. But the idea that I’d be able to do another thirty one episodes on top of that to reach one hundred is astonishing.

If I’m really honest, I was just hoping to get to the end…

--

--

Shain E. Thomas
Paradise Unlocked

With an M.Sc. from the University of North Texas, I’m a freelance journalist and a social historian. #APStylebook #BBCStyleGuide http://shainethomas.com/