Paradox Café is Going to Change

Rowen Veratome
Paradox Café
Published in
2 min readNov 12, 2020

--

Photo by Mario Mendez on Unsplash

Hi all,

After looking at the poetry publications that already exist on Medium, I’ve decided that from now on, Paradox Café will focus on philosophical poetry. In the next week, expect changes to the publication description, instructions for applying as a writer, and a discussion about what makes a poem philosophical (along with some examples).

Not everything I’ve posted so far would count as a philosophical poem. I’ve skipped posting a poem this week so that I can curate examples and get a better idea of what I’m looking for. A poem might be perfectly good, but not a good fit for this publication.

If you love both philosophy and poetry, I’d love to hear from you. If you know someone who loves both philosophy and poetry, I’d love to hear from them. You can email paradox.cafe.writers@gmail.com. You can also comment on this newsletter.

As new people start to write for the publication, these newsletters will also change. So far in the Weekly Poem, I’ve sent out the context for one poem each week. This model would make no sense with more contributors, and the design of each newsletter will change accordingly; perhaps this newsletter will become The Paradox Gazette. If you have an interest in Paradox Café and have preferences about what the newsletter consists of (and how often or when it is sent out), I’d love to hear from you.

Finally, I wanted to mention that I’m interested in making the group of people who write for Paradox Café a community. We could make a Slack group for the people who post here to schedule workshops and exchange revision feedback on poems. It would be really nice to connect as a small community of people who are dedicated to continued learning and improving their craft.

Thank you for reading. Take care of yourself and be well.

Best Wishes,
Rox A.

--

--

Rowen Veratome
Paradox Café

They/them. Perpetual student. Recovering from PTSD. Writes philosophically, formally, poetically, playfully, politically, personally, with love, ad infinitum.