Street Sailin’ with Giorgia Ivone

Giorgia Ivone spills the thrills on being a street photographer in Italy. Visual treats in monochrome included.

Erin Nøir
PARALLEL PLANETS
6 min readDec 20, 2015

--

I can’t remember how I first stumbled upon Giorgia Ivone’s work. Not that this is my main point, but there’s something about her black & white street photographs, something transparent and captivating, that compelled me to find out more about this camerawoman. Maybe it’s how her pictures gave me a bare glimpse of what Italy is like, especially since it’s a place where I’ve never been to, or probably I won’t ever be able to go to.

There isn’t much about Giorgia on the Internet. Countless results are found when you Google her name, but aside from her notable street shots, most of the articles that feature her are in Italian — which left me starving for more. Having interviewed her for Parallel Planets is such an honor. With her short and sweet answers, I realized that it’s not important whether I do or don’t remember who I first stumbled upon her work. It’s more about how I’m lucky I am to share her street sentiments and snaps here, which I hope you’ll find inspiring like I do.

© Giorgia Ivone

Hello, Giorgia! It’s great to have you here on Parallel Planets. We’d love to know more about you. When did you first venture into photography?

I’ve always loved photography and I’m passionate for black & white but I’ve never thought I’d become a photographer. Two years ago, I had the need to find myself so I subscribed to a social community in order to discover this world. Since then, I have been ‘contaminated’ with ideas and images so I decide to free my fantasy. I started taking pictures of what I saw around me and because I didn’t have much experience, I let myself be guided simply by my inspiration.

Compared to then and now, was there a significant change in your sense of style and/or the message that you’d like to communicate through your pictures?

In the past two years, I’ve changed my point of view as I decided to communicate the “day by day” life in my city or other cities. My aim is to take pictures that could communicate emotions that are related to a personal status.

How do you go about your creative process — from the conception
of your ideas to the execution of your thoughts onto your photographs?

I don’t have a well-defined concept. I usually go around following my inspirations and my attitude. I usually take pictures that capture a life’s moment and hopefully be able to trigger an emotion in anyone who will see it.

Do you always shoot in black & white?

I only shoot in black & white because I think that it highlights the scenes much better. Colors distract the attention from the “moment” that I took my shot.

How is it like to be a photographer in Italy? How would you describe the photography subculture there?

I think that is not simple to be a street photographer in Italy as people usually don’t like to be a part of a photo. I have to be attentive to privacy law. At the same time, photography in Italy is generally considered as an art form even if it’s something recent but also, this perception is evolving. Photography is a way to communicate different things related to different human spheres.

Do you mainly use analogue or digital? Why do you favour one from the other?

I only digital because I started with photography only 2 years ago, which is the digital era. It’s more immediate for my type of street art. But at the same time, I’m fascinated with analogue; so in the future, I would also like to go through this kind of experience.

How does photography relate to your personality and your personal stories?

Photography is an important value added to my life. It gives me more consciousness about myself and it frees my creativity that I could only express through my job — I’m a hair and make-up artist. Moreover, photography enabled an self-exploration that, in the past couple of years, let me understand I capture, not only a “street life moment” but also, my personality.

Which iconic photographers do you look up to and how do their works influence and inspire yours?

I am inspired by Henri Cartier-Bresson and by Vivian Maier as they captured life moment using in a perfect way black & white style. I’m curious so I always look at various pictures, also of not famous photographers, that could inspire my art.

To you, what makes a photograph worth framing and hanging on the living room wall?

I think that it’s related to emotions. A photograph is a mix of framing, light, subjects, and actions that if are well-balanced could make the difference and capture a viewer’s attention. Every person could feel something different in a good photograph, this is the secret of a touching shot.

Aside from taking pictures, what other creative pursuits are you interested in?

At this moment, my job and taking pictures are my principal interests.

What are your ongoing projects? Do you have any upcoming shows?

I’m collecting my photos to find a common denominator as there could be a future personal show.

How do other forms of art affect your work?

I like to be influenced with many different styles. For instance, when I take pictures, I listen to different kinds of music (classic, pop, rock, etc.) and then I enter a creative dimension, which helps me in capturing the right moment to take photographs. Music, as well as books and films, help me in having different point of views that I reflect in my pictures.

In an alternate universe where photography does not exist —
What would your name be? What would you be doing instead?

I think that I could express my creativity trough cooking as I like mixing different flavors, spices, and colors in order to create new recipes. As I also like music, I think that I would like to be a singer even if I’m off-key​.

© Giorgia Ivone

Giorgia does not run her own web site, at least not for now. But if you’re fond of her works like I am, you may follow her personal account on Facebook, where she shares some of her black & white street photographs. Or you may just Google her name from time to time. And this you should definitely do because I have a strong feeling that Giorgia Ivone will also be showing us, not just the streets of Italy, but the rest of the world through her cameras — anytime soon.

Would you like Parallel Planets to feature your work? Share your black & white planet through us! Our international call for creative contributions is always open — read the complete guidelines and requirements here.

--

--

Erin Nøir
PARALLEL PLANETS

A svelte gamine, a catwoman, the maniac at @monopopcult, and the all-seeing eye at @parallelplanets. www.erinn0ir.com