Recursion Art

Yanling He
PARALLEL PRESS
Published in
2 min readFeb 29, 2016

I was attracted to geometry a lot. I can play with very simple shapes for quite a while, even just square, circle or triangle. I always believe if there exits truth in the world, it must be simple and pretty as geometry, as math.

Sometime, like a sunny Saturday morning, I really want to create something. I drew a square on a paper. I thought it is too plain there should be more, so I drew another one. Then I thought why the square I already drew cannot drew another one, like drawing a baby version of itself. So I write drawSquare recursion function to call itself.

Squares can have different gradients.

Squares can have different colors.

But they all follow the same rule of producing small squares.

Until a point. Itself decide to stop.

It is quite amazing how it is similar to generating people, but we have a more ambiguous ending point.

--

--