Pared Pro-File: Josh Ortiz

Pared
Pared Blog
Published in
3 min readAug 14, 2017

One of the main reasons why I like Pared, is that I can make my own schedule. I can also gain more experience in working different restaurants. And the most exciting part of Pared I enjoy is getting to network with different types of chefs. This will definitely help me find my place in the kitchen.

Tell us about where you’re from and about your cooking journey.

I’m originally from Brooklyn, New York. I moved to the Bay Area when I was 11 years-old in 2001, right before 9/11. Coming from half an Italian/Russian family, growing up my mom would usually cook Italian food at home. I am still learning how to make Russian dishes. Also coming from a Puerto Rican descent, my abuela on my dads side, would always cook Puerto Rican food. Learning from my mom & abuela, cooking Italian and Puerto Rican food is second nature to me.

When I was younger and my mom went back to work, I took it upon myself to learn and start cooking for the family and have dinner ready when everyone came home. My favorite dishes I made were fried chicken parmesan, London broil, lasagna, stuffed shells, carne guiasado & pollo guiasado, & seasoned corned beef with potatoes, just to name a few. From high school till 5 years ago, I worked at McDonald’s, Subway, WingStop, & UPS all while attending school to become a motorcycle technician. I truly found my calling for cooking after visiting my family in Jersey one summer. My family are the ones who motivated me to pursue a career in the culinary world. When I got back, I started to look for jobs in the kitchen. Since I didn’t have that much experience, I knew I had to start from the bottom and work my way up. Thankfully a position at Maven in San Francisco on Haight Street opened. I started as there dishwasher part-time, then became a full-time line cook. Chef Isaac Miller took me under his wing and started to teach me the basics and Chef Marik Schultz showed me the pastry world. After seeing my dedication and willingness to learn, Chef Isaac promoted me as head senior line cook after 6 months. I found myself on Pared wanting to learn more about the culinary world.

Josh in his early days at Maven in San Francisco

What do you like most about working on Pared?

One of the main reasons why I like Pared, is that I can make my own schedule. I can also gain more experience in working different restaurants. And the most exciting part of Pared I enjoy is getting to network with different types of chefs. This will definitely help me find my place in the kitchen.

What’s been your best Pared experience to date?

The best part of working with Pared is working the big events. I remember working with Componere on a motorcycle event and I got to see so many cool types of motorcycles. That really made my day! One event I will always remember is with Netflix. It was for Bill Nye Science Guy, I totally grew up watching him!

What would you tell someone who is considering working on Pared but is unsure?

I would definitely recommend Pared to anyone who is interested in the culinary world. You will gain experience while going to school or start your way from the bottom to the top.

Josh has cooked at The Morris, Prospect, Gather, Dabba, One Market, Cassava, Foreign Cinema and many other restaurants and events through Pared. To learn more about working on Pared visit our talent website.

--

--