What is Parent Appeal?

Social Appeal
Parent Appeal
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2018

A grass roots campaign about kids in Wantage, Oxfordshire and beyond. Performing the juggling act of looking after the kids and yourself too. For parents, carers and all family members who help out, remember it takes a village!

I’m a Mum of two living in Wantage, juggling work, friends, hobbies and the kids. I wanted to find out about what is in my local area to help me do all the things I want to do with the kids and on my own. We tend to lose ourselves a bit when we decide to have a family, it really is hard to fit everything in. As a family we like doing things together but endless soft play and crafts are just not doing it for me anymore, I want to find the places that I, as an adult enjoy going to as well. Even just a great coffee will entice me!

Faringdon Folly

Wantage and the surrounding villages have a lot to offer for kids and for adults but having lived in the area for a long time I still find it difficult to find out what is there is to do. I can remember being a new Mother and not having any resources to find the local Baby and Toddler groups or not knowing where to go on rainy days when we all needed to get out of the house. My aim is be a one stop shop for everything we need as carers to help us on this journey. Sharing ideas, finding new things to do and looking after each other.

The main focus will be on parenting and well-being, looking at the resources locally that we can use to help our lives run more smoothly, as well as our mental well-being and making sure we check in ourselves from time to time.

Of course, I want to share ideas for days out with the kids and local activities as well as places to eat where the menus suit the adults too. We live in an area of beautiful countryside and there are loads of opportunities to explore The Great Outdoors, but where are the places to go that suit all age ranges for the kids? All of this with a good dose of humour!

White Horse Hill

As Mum’s seem to get all the attention in the world of caring for the kids I want to look at what is out there for the Dad’s and Grandparents too. In a lot of families they play a huge part in childcare. What activities with the kids suit their needs too?

All of this while celebrating the local area and local businesses, supporting the local community that make small towns and the surrounding villages unique and an interesting and fun place to live.

--

--

Social Appeal
Parent Appeal

Freelance Social Media Manager and #digitalmum. Social media management and content creation. Championing independent businesses in the OX postcode and beyond.