Lessons Learned from Starling Beta Testing

Starling by VersaMe
Parent Perspectives
4 min readMay 10, 2016

I love this quote from one of our Starling beta testers:

“Overall, I love this device . . . it is a mindful reminder that my child is listening to every word I say; that it is very important to talk to her and describe everything.”

This sums up why we created the Starling: we wanted to do what’s best for our kids. Personally, it helps me feel more aware and present with my three kids. The Starling has changed me as a parent for the better.

As we prepare to launch the Starling, I want to highlight some of the best lessons learned from our beta testers throughout the development process. We still have a lot of work to do because we have so many ideas about how to make the Starling experience even more impactful.

“My biggest concern hasn’t happened…I thought Mary would pull it off her shirt 300 times per hour.”

“My child seems to feel special having his own star and likes to point to it. It’s a pleasant addition to his wardrobe, and we are having fun with it.”

The badge of honor. “Will my child wear this?” is the first question many parents ask us. Some parents say, “My kid will never keep that on!” Well, it turns out that kids will not only wear it but say that the Starling becomes a “badge of honor” because it’s something they get to wear that is important to mom and dad. I first noticed this with my daughter Isabella. After just a few days of of wearing a Starling prototype, she literally started crying when I had to take it off her to bring to a meeting. Now many testers have reported similar experiences. That’s cool!

We never expected that the Starling would become an attachment device like a teddy bear or blanket! Here’s why: If it is important to Mom, it’s important to baby. Children prize their parent’s attention, and the Starling encourages that attention.

“We just hadn’t realized how much more we talk to other adults than we do to our son, word count wise.”

“After 2 days I have already noticed that it is making me conscious of the number and variety of words I expose Mary to. It’s training me, which is great!”

A word about counting. The Starling counts words in real life, but real life is messy. The Starling sometimes over- or under-counts, and that’s okay. Here’s why: during the course of the day those pluses and minuses tend to cancel each other out.

Loud restaurants, lively dinner conversation, whispers in church, children’s birthday parties, crying, laughing, and more can be hard and confusing even for a human transcriptionist. Over time we will improve our ability to filter and calibrate and research for all of life’s instances. The key message is that your intentional words are the ones that matter most, and the Starling is designed to encourage more of that kind of high-quality interaction throughout each day.

“One thing I did notice is that I didn’t talk as much as I thought I did.”

“Just the sight of the device reminds me to use full sentences and talk more frequently, instead of using short sentences or just facial expressions.”

Intentionality. The Starling helps a parent in two ways. First, it provides a global picture of the day. I know that if I spoke four thousand fewer words than yesterday, I need to do better tomorrow. I can clearly tell the days where we are just not that interactive.

Second, it reminds a parent to be intentional. When I am changing a diaper and stuck in my own head, I see the Starling and realize that I am missing a great opportunity for engagement! When I get home from work and that mental to-do list is a mile long, the Starling reminds me to pause and actually engage with my child rather than getting caught up in the dinner-bath-bedtime launch sequence. It gives me permission to put engagement first and feel like I accomplished something too.

Listening is hard! In our house, we have a running joke about what yes means. My wife will start talking to me and after a few seconds I will respond with, “Yes.” Then she’ll pause and look at me and say, “Are you agreeing with me? Do you know what I just said?” My response is, “No, I was just acknowledging the fact that you were talking, and now I am ready to listen.”

So now you’re probably wondering what this has to do with the Starling. Well, the Starling can count words, but a parent’s goal shouldn’t be to speak like an auctioneer. The goal isn’t to speak at your child but with your child. Words represent only half the interaction; the other half is listening. Engagement = Speaking + Listening.

Love/Hate Relationship. Parents love that they are more mindful but hate the fact that they need to be reminded at all.

We have a lot of work to do to make the Starling truly awesome, and there is a lot more that we want to offer. However, as we’ve expanded our testing pool, my heart has been warmed by the reception of our testers.

This piece was originally posted at VersaMe.com. VersaMe created the Starling the world’s first wearable engagement tracker that helps encourage and reinforce positive parenting behaviors.

--

--

Starling by VersaMe
Parent Perspectives

We're on a mission to empower every child to fulfill their potential. VersaMe uses wearable technology to revolutionize early education.