Laura Isolde
Parenting Without Booze
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readFeb 3, 2020

--

Thriving Sober, PWB Newsletter 2: Thank you for signing up to hear from me! ~Laura from Parenting Without Booze Medium Publication

Thriving without booze is not what I thought it would be.

Hi there sober souls,

Since I’ve been thinking and talking a LOT about comfort (mostly on Instagram), I decided to write a piece about it here on Medium. This deep-dive into what comforting ourselves means had nothing to do with heading off to a 5-day retreat, or getting a massage, or even sneaking chocolate (because digging the last 3 Mn’Ms out of the trail mix bag and locking yourself in the bathroom is just regular self-care, right?)

Nope, I’m talking about deep comfort

In this crazy world where we still don’t take near enough care of ourselves as we should, self-care is hard to come by. Even harder is deep comfort. We do it for our kids, our friends, and partners sometimes, but what does it look like for us?

What would happen if we looked past those flowery memes of self-affirmation we scroll through on social media and discovered something underneath that’s key to thriving sober?

Don’t get me wrong, I love me a warm bath and fancy tea to get me over those itchy-under-my-skin moments of drink o’ clock, but I’m discovering that there is more to taking care of yourself and the key to finding that can be found in the eyes of our kids. It’s a reflection.

--

--

Laura Isolde
Parenting Without Booze

Learning to make dinner, do laundry, & check homework without gallons of wine. Writer, runner, momma. Find me at ParentingWithoutBooze.com