Book Review Policy

Jason Park
Park & Recommendations
2 min readOct 17, 2017

I accept copies of books for review on an open basis. If you offer to send me a copy of a book to review online (here, Goodreads, Amazon, etc.), I am likely to accept. If I accept, I will guarantee a review of the book. The speed at which I will review will vary depending on the length of the book and my current reading list, but my standard practice is to publish a review within 30–60 days upon receipt of the book. I do accept unsolicited books for review, but I do not guarantee a review in such a case.

When I write a review of your book, I will write the following disclosure at the end of the post: “I received this book as (an ARC/a review copy) courtesy of (name of publisher/person providing the copy), but my opinions are my own.” When I am finished reviewing the book (and after the book has been published), I will donate the copy to a local teacher or to charity unless specifically instructed by the publisher to do otherwise.

Here are some additional helpful bits of information for publicists, organizers, etc.:

  1. I prefer hard copies of books, but only by a little. I gladly accept eBooks (preferable in MOBI format so that I can easily read them on Kindle).
  2. My primary interests are in nonfiction books, specifically history, psychology, sociology, government/politics, education, biography, memoir, parenting, sports, entertainment, and the occasional business book. I do not read self-help books.
  3. I do read fiction books, but not as often, so I’ll give you some of my favorite books from fiction genres for reference: sci-fi (The Martian, Red Rising), fantasy (LOTR, Chronicles of Narnia), YA/dystopian (Hunger Games, Divergent, Legend), historical fiction (Elizabeth Street). I do not read much fiction outside of these genres.
  4. If I don’t like the book, I will be honest, but I will not be harsh. If I write a negative review, I will be very specific about what I did not like. However, I am an optimist and my reviews almost always reflect that personality.
  5. I will always post a review on Medium and on Goodreads. If you would like the book reviewed anywhere else, please let me know and I will do my best to grant your wishes.

My contact information:

Email — jasonandersonpark@gmail.com

Phone number and address — upon request

--

--

Jason Park
Park & Recommendations

Book-reviewer, AP World History and AP Psychology Teacher. MAT Secondary Social Studies, University of Arkansas. Arlington, TX.