My Favorite Books of 2019

Jason Park
Park & Recommendations
11 min readDec 31, 2019

--

I’m currently reading my 75th book of the year, which is my largest ever, and I hope that means that this book list is even more helpful to those out there looking for some great reads you might have missed this year. While my reading habits have mainly stayed the same this year, I have found some moderate changes in a couple of areas.

First, I read more fiction this year (a whole 9 books!) but since I still prefer nonfiction by a pretty large margin, my top 10 of the year are all nonfiction. However, I do have a couple of terrific fiction books to which I should give honorable mention. Taylor Jenkins Reid’s Daisy Jones and the Six, a book about a fictional band that reads like an oral history and is so well-done I forgot I wasn’t reading an actual history sometimes. Then Nicola Yoon’s 2016 book The Sun Is Also a Star might be my favorite non-dystopian young adult novel ever (although, admittedly, most of my YA reads have been set in dystopias). It follows a boy and girl, both children of immigrants, who meet and fall in love in one day despite one of them not even believing in love to begin with.

This year I also read a much larger percentage of books written by women. I made a mental goal this year for…

--

--

Jason Park
Park & Recommendations

Book-reviewer, AP World History and AP Psychology Teacher. MAT Secondary Social Studies, University of Arkansas. Arlington, TX.