The Archaeology Study Bible (ESV)— Crossway Publishing

A study Bible that illuminates the history and reality of the biblical world, and a great add to your library

Jason Park
Park & Recommendations

--

I am a world history teacher. I also went to a private Christian school for most of my life. Given these two facts, one might assume that my knowledge of biblical history is impressive. And they would be wrong.

Until recently, I had not made any attempt to educate myself on the history of the biblical world or even church history. I began to hear people talk about the importance of fluency in biblical history, the whole story of the Bible, and I realized how little I knew. If I was going to truly understand the Bible, I needed to learn this history. When did Israel split into two kingdoms, and why? How does the Bible relate to other historical events? What more could I know about the early church? I can learn this by reading the Bible chronologically, obviously, but there are even more tools out there to supplement that knowledge. I just wasn’t using them. If you can relate to any part of this above, the Archaeology Study Bible is for you. It provides more background knowledge on the people, places, events, and archaeological evidence of the Bible than any other study Bible I have used.

--

--

Jason Park
Park & Recommendations

Book-reviewer, AP World History and AP Psychology Teacher. MAT Secondary Social Studies, University of Arkansas. Arlington, TX.