Parsec Frontiers team spotlight: Gabriele Nicastro

Aleksander Leonard Larsen
Parsec Frontiers
Published in
3 min readMar 13, 2018

In this series our goal is to let the community see who is working on the upcoming space MMO Parsec Frontiers.

First up we have artist Gabriele Nicastro who spends his days creating awesome concept art.

Earth has fallen by Gabriele Nicastro

Could you briefly introduce yourself? Who are you and what do you do?
Sure, I’m a 26 year old concept artist from a small town in the south of Italy called Potenza.

What is the biggest challenge you face when working with a project like this?

The project in itself is not that hard, the biggest challenge for me is moving to a new city, with a different culture. Adjusting to a lifestyle which I am not familiar with.

How are you enjoying Oslo so far?

Oslo seems like a great city, I have only been here for a few days so the days have been spent exploring. I was out with Peter who is a game designer at Artplant this weekend. I allways wanted to travel to Norway since I am very fascinated with viking culture and hope to visit some museums related to this while I am here.

Why did you chose to work for Artplant / Parsec Frontiers

I have been following Artplant since Block N Load, and after looking at Joakims artwork on Parsec I was further intrigued. I spent some time talking to Jack (Artplant CEO) who liked my portfolio and wanted me on the team. I’m freelancing for Artplant at the moment and will be on site in Oslo the next two weeks. After that I will be working remotely from Italy for awhile but eventually I hope to move here and work on this full time.

What is your favorite piece of art and why?

This is a very hard question because my art is influenced by so many things. What I can say is that my favorite artists include: Alan Lee, Ted Nasmith, Theodor Kittelsen, Zdzislaw Beksinski, John Bauer and in more modern game industry I look up to Feng Zhu.

Are you a gamer? What is your favorite game if yes, and why.
Bloodbourne is my favorite game, the artwork and gameplay aswell as the design style fit me really well. Dark environments are my kind of thing so I like Metal Gear Solid, fantasy / sci-fi.

Anything you want to share before we wrap it up?

You can find my portfolio at https://www.artstation.com/nicastro_gabriele

For more information please join the conversation on our Discord or follow us on Twitter. Also remember to clap and share if you like this content.

--

--

Aleksander Leonard Larsen
Parsec Frontiers

Aleksander - @AxieInfinity COO -Crypto collectible enthusiast and partnered twitch streamer. @Psycheout86