Video Games You Should Play This Holiday Season

My name is Alex, and I just joined the Parsec Team as its first Marketing Director. One of the biggest reasons why I joined the awesome folks at Parsec is because I love video games, just like the rest of the team. To me, and many others in the world, video games are a form of art that allows us to immerse ourselves in incredible experiences we could never think of. Simply put, video games are magical. And there isn’t a better year to talk about video games than 2017. I have been gaming since the the 90’s, and I can hardly imagine a year that has seen so many fantastic titles coming out, one after the other. With the industry growing at such a fast pace, you would easily expect a fair amount of Game Of The Year Candidates per year, but the last 365 days have surely exceeded any possible expectation. This year, Nintendo returned with the unstoppable Nintendo Switch, PC Gaming hit records with PUBG, PS4 dropped several great exclusives, and XBOX released the most powerful console of all time. Let’s make it clear: this is the best time ever to be a gamer, and, if you are one, the backlog in your gaming library is probably very, very long (unless you play something like 20 hours a day). And with 2017 coming to an end, that means it’s time to buy, gift or simply enjoy some games during the Holidays. Here are some of the games we believe that you ABSOLUTELY need to play in the closing months of 2017 — even if that means sleeping less than you already do (a problem we all share).

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds (PC)

So, you know we are not f****ing around when the hottest game of 2017 sits at the last position in this list (read to the bottom to find out). PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds (PUBG in short, because that is a very long name, let’s be honest), is the biggest representative of the Battle Royale genre. If you’re wondering how this gaming genre works, there is one easy way to explain it: 100 players, one last standing, and a lot of nightmares following hours of hiding from and confronting your fellow gamers in the dystopian world. As you can tell, winning a match in PUBG is not easy at all. But when that rare moment happens, the gratification that the player feels can be compared to winning a World Cup. And that must be a feeling that many PC gamers want to experience at least once in their lifetime, since more than 20 million players have bought the game. It’s so good, addictive, and real that China is considering censoring it. At this very moment (I’m writing this at 3pm on November 7), over 600,000 players are currently playing PUBG on Steam, and it looks like this surprisingly fun title is not done setting records. I personally love playing this game, and the fact that an early access game is already so polished can only mean great things for the future.

Injustice 2 (PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One)

If there is a fighting game that deserves to be called “blockbuster”, that would be Injustice 2. From the gorgeous cutscenes, to the cinematic, yet fun 2D fighting gameplay, Injustice 2 shows why the folks at NetherRealm Studios are still one of the best studios in the industry. The game offers a plethora of content in terms of characters, collectibles and what is probably the most robust, deepest and fun single player offering in the genre. I have personally had the time of my life playing Injustice 2 (and so does my wife), even if more familiar with Marvel than DC characters. And that is probably Injustice’s best quality: its characters are so well animated, voiced, and fun to play that is is really hard to not geek out when some of the pre-fight dialogues occur. Even if you’re not a DC fan. While I find Injustice’s gameplay to be less technical than your typical Street Fighter or Marvel vs Capcom, it is also true that it is way more accessible than those two. But, accessible doesn’t mean that the combat lacks depth; Injustice’s esports community is thriving and filled with 6 figure winnings. Pros love the game, and so do casual gamers all around the world. This is a must-have if you enjoy seeing superheroes and villains fight in some of the most epic stages in comic books!

Cuphead (PC, Xbox One)

See, you could think that Cuphead being in this Top List might be biased because of Parsec’s marketing (yes, we play this game A LOT), but that 89 on Metacritic is there to support my pick. Cuphead is the prime example of what I said in the introduction of this blog post: video games are art, and they create worlds we love to explore. Cuphead is a beautiful 2D run and gun shooter that attracts players for its look (drawn in the style of 1930s cartoons) and gameplay for all ages (Megaman reinvented). Cuphead is, in fact, a game that every player will love, but don’t make the mistake of thinking that the title is easy. In an era where developers purposely create easier games in order to appeal to broader audiences, it is great to see a game like Cuphead going back to a challenging, yet compelling gameplay.

https://i.redd.it/ctxe3ybehxpz.png

Part of what makes Cuphead special is the fact that each boss takes a different strategy to beat, and that will have you “studying” them and their behaviors. So, after dying a few times in Cuphead (and possibly even more), each time you succeed is an incredibly gratifying and rewarding experience. I personally want to take the time to thank StudioMDHR for taking the risk to create such an experimental title, and to Microsoft for partially funding it. With the game being only $19.99, this is a no-brainer: make Cuphead yours!

Mario Kart 8 Deluxe (Nintendo Switch)

I know that Mario Kart 8 Deluxe is technically a port. But the new content and improved gameplay that this version brings to the table, make this the ultimate party game. In fact, let me tell you a story about Mario Kart and how social it can get. Weeks ago I visited my family in Italy, and I brought my Switch with me, because I wanted to play some Splatoon 2. One day I started playing Mario Kart 8 Deluxe on the TV, and my mom saw me playing while passing by. My mom never played a video game in her life, but I thought that Mario Kart would be a good first experience for her. So, just like in the Nintendo Switch commercial, I gave her a joycon and we started playing. I activated Smart Steering on her side, which makes sure that your driver never steers too far off the course (or falls off the map). And let me tell you, that was an eye-opening experience. My mom was finally able to play video games with me, and that was because of Mario Kart and its “social powers”. Now, we might try to stream my Switch from the US to her in Italy through Parsec. It’s a game for the whole family, and probably the biggest attraction at your future parties. But, let’s not just focus on Mario Kart’s social aspects, because that would be a crime to the great work done by Hideki Konno and his team. Mario Kart 8 Deluxe counts 48 tracks and 43 characters, making this the biggest title in the series. And if that’s not enough to convince you of the joy that this game will bring to your life, there is also a new, revamped Battle Mode. My favorite mini-game in it would probably be Bob-omb Blast, which I can describe as a death-match mode with many, many bombs being thrown all over the map. The game is also incredibly gorgeous and charming, with visuals and music that make you feel like playing a Mario themed Pixar movie. Mario Kart 8 Deluxe is the perfect holiday title that will make a whole family smile while playing. Racing has never been this fun!

Wolfenstein II: The new Colossus (PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One)

Going from Mario Kart 8 Deluxe to Wolfenstein is a little strange at first, I admit. One is a cartoony kart racing game for everyone, and the other one is, well, a VERY mature shooter that features blood, gore, violence, partial nudity, and, strong, very strong language. But both games belong to my special “amazing games of 2017” list for different reasons. Wolfenstein is well written, fun, and full of personality throughout the game. Its setting, a Nazi-occupied America, is very unique and controversial at the same time. Wolfenstein is here to tell you that Bethesda and MachineGames make the games they want to make, without any sort of censorship. And if the game’s plot isn’t enough to prove that, its marketing based on social commentary and the tagline “punch a nazi” are here to remind you that. The single-player campaign is filled with adrenaline, action, and a crew of characters you will get to love. After Doom last year, Bethesda released another Game of the Year Candidate that any gamer over the age of 17 should absolutely own. Every game on this list offers something special, and Wolfenstein II: The new Colossus is my first-person shooter of 2017.

Super Mario Odyssey (Nintendo Switch)

I will get straight to the point: Super Mario Odyssey is the best game I have ever played in my life. As a pretty technical gamer, I always review and analyze games as a critic would. With Mario Odyssey, I could not do that. It’s very rare for me to play a game and not get bored for even 5 or 10 minutes. Some of the biggest classics in the history of this industry have failed to entertain me for 30 hours straight, but Mario Odyssey didn’t. Its level design, gameplay, and sense of exploration make me feel like a kid again, exploring the Mushroom Kingdom for the first time. The game and its puzzles make you doubt your choices and think of solutions you would never expect in a video game. That, combined with Cappy, Mario’s partner in this adventure, are the elements I enjoyed the most. Cappy allows you to possess the enemies (I know, it sounds really, really dark), and use them to perform different actions. For example, you can possess one Goomba, and then stack many other Goombas in order to create an actual Goomba Tower. You will then be able to use that to impress a Goombette and earn a power moon. Yes, I know that a lot of the stuff that you have read in the last few sentences makes no sense, but in Mario Odyssey everything makes sense. And that is why I love this game; it’s crazy, and something only Nintendo would come up with. Willing to risk is in Nintendo’s DNA, and Mario Odyssey is the epitome of that. The levels are not fully sandboxed like Grand Theft Auto. Their open nature allows players to complete quests in different ways. Nothing is scripted. I spent over 30 hours in this world, and I have only collected 200+ power moons out of the over 900 in the game. Also, without spoiling anything about the story, I will just say that the post-game you get after beating the campaign is really, really cool. I could spend hours talking about my love for Mario Odyssey, but the truth is that I wanna go play it now. And you should as well.

Honorable Mentions

So, to highlight the fact that 2017 is a golden year for video games, here are a few other titles that I played this year that still deserve a mention. The reality is that if I talked about all of the titles I enjoyed, I would need a 25 page blog, which neither of us wants. Here we go:

Fortnite Battle Royal Mode (PC): Clocked over 25 hours on this fantastic free title. It is a different take on the battle royale genre when compared to PUBG. I love the building, upgrading and repairing aspects and its cartoony visuals. It doesn’t cost anything, so you should give it a try.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath Of The Wild (Nintendo Switch): The only reason why this is “just” an honorable mention is because Mario Odyssey and Mario Kart 8 Deluxe aggressively took most of my time on the Switch. But, I would be insane not to confirm that Breath of the Wild is indeed a masterpiece and a revolutionary step in the history of this franchise. Can’t go wrong buying this, unless you hate spending 100’s of hours in a beautifully crafted action-adventure game!

Divinity: Original Sin 2 (PC): This is the type of game that I would love to play if I had more than one life, or, more than 24 hours available per day. Divinity: Original Sin 2 is an exquisite role-playing experience that offers a fantastic story, offline/online co-op, a PVP arena mode, and much, much more. This is probably the best PC exclusive of the year, and one you cannot miss. I personally love the hat tip to D&D with Game Master mode.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my best gaming experiences of 2017. I have played a lot this year, clocking a few hundred hours into some of the best titles of this generation. Because of Parsec, I am able to try several titles each month, and that allows me to jump into different genres. But, enough about me. I would love to know what are your favorite games of 2017, and what games would YOU suggest to me and our awesome readers! Leave your response below! Until next time, happy gaming!

--

--