5 Ways to calm down immediately

Hopehei
Future Light
Published in
2 min readMay 25, 2024
photos used on Unsplash

Most of the students need to support and counsel during the lessons because of their emotion in classroom. Their emotion is mainly come from the scold by teacher, the laugh by classmates or even the behaviors of classmates. They may be easily to run away or shout in the classrooms. Teachers will call me to help them immediately. I usually bring them to my room for counseling at that time. However, the important thing isto let them calm down first. The followings are 5 ways which I mostly use to help students to calm down immediately.

1) Deep Breathing

They should take a slow, deep breath for few seconds. Actually, they can be better when they do the breathing exercise. Repeated the exercise with 4–5 times at that moment is necessary.

2) Drink Water

It is useful to let them drink some water as they have carried their water bottles in school. Drinking water is better for them that can refresh their mind quickly. They are more focusing on the sensation of moving down the throat. They feel coolness in a few seconds.

3) Listening to Music

Sometimes, I will give them to listen the soft music that can disperse the attention. With some soft music sounds, most of them can be easily calm down at that moment. Listening to music can be peaceful and forget the anger things.

4) Give a Space to Sit for a While

I will carry them to my counseling room and give a space for them just sitting a few minutes alone. I would not disturb them by asking questions after they feel ok. It is important for them to take a break but I need to observe within a distance.

5) Squeezing a Stress Ball

I would like to give them a stress ball that they can squeeze a soft, squishy ball in the hand which can release the tension. They can touch things which let them have more safety at that moment.

In my conclusion, it is important to let the emotional students to calm down first instead of asking any questions. So, the above ways can be used for any emotional people not only for students. Some of people may be anger to other’s responds or anything which can stimulate at that moment. Try the above methods when in needs.

--

--

Hopehei
Future Light

I want to share my experience of helping people and counseling in my life to encourage people