Five Things I’ve Learned So Far Reselling For Profit

Joe Thomas
Part Time Hustle
Published in
4 min readOct 25, 2021

--

Open For Business

Photo by Alex Knight on Unsplash

At the beginning of September, I started a new venture. I’ve been watching YouTube videos for a while now about various part-time hustles and side gigs considering how I might make a few hundred dollars a month to put towards debt reduction and retirement investments.

I decided that in Sept. I would take a stab at reselling on eBay. I started planning for this endeavor in July. I started creating a workspace and researching sales on eBay. After watching countless hours of YouTube videos, reading blog posts, and looking at what was available and what was selling on YouTube I decided that I would focus mainly on men's clothing.

I wanted to get this up and running with as little money out of pocket as possible. We found stuff in our home that was not being used or was of no value to us anymore and listed that first. I listed some clothes that my wife and I no longer were wearing. I listed some video game parts and pieces that were leftover from when our kids were at home.

Once I started selling a few items and generating some revenue I started sourcing items from thrift stores. I live in a small town so there aren’t many options near my house. I do, however, live within an hour of Houston. So, if I’m willing to invest a little time into a drive there…

--

--

Joe Thomas
Part Time Hustle

At 54 years old I've seen a lot of life. I've raised four kids and now I'm spending time with grandkids. I'm a mariner by trade but a writer at heart.