A simple formula for getting what you want

Josselyn Pineda
PartnerHero
Published in
4 min readDec 15, 2016

You may hear many people saying that you can’t always get what you want, but I’m the kind of person that thinks that you can achieve all of those things and dreams you are pursuing and much more. You may be asking yourself “How can this be possible”. First, you have to stop complaining about what you do or what you are. Of course, we’re all responsible for it. However if you want to be or do something different, the constants “I can’t do it” or “I’m just not enough” will not make your situation better. I read a quote once that said “Don’t believe in everything you think”. This specific quote changed the way I react when a discouraging or bad thought walks into my mind. Overthinking that you are not enough is unhealthy and very exhausting. You are only giving much more power to those negative thoughts. You are enough just as you are. Thoughts are just thoughts. Change your way of thinking and tell yourself that you can do it and that you are worth of this.

To start changing the way you think, stop just wanting to change and take the first step.

Start taking out those goals from your bucket list and start achieving them. Goals are the road maps that guide you and show you what is really possible in your life. How are we supposed to manifest what we want if we don’t even set some goals? Setting goals gives us clarity on what we want. It makes you to have more clear the desires floating in your mind. Goals are the fuel which drive you forward and keep you moving forward when the going gets tough. When I experience moments in which I lose motivation to achieve my goals, I get into a meditation mode and focus on some of the most important goals in my life. Setting goals helps me to have a clear sense of what I want to do and where do I want to go and in some way helps me to live life to the fullest. I can say right now that one of my goals is to increase my performance metrics, which will help me to show the value I bring as an employee of Partner Hero. Metrics are important because they show the satisfaction we give to the customer and show the employee’s competence.

Life’s ups and downs provide windows of opportunity to determine your values and goals. Think of using all obstacles as stepping stones to build the life you want. Remember, if you don’t have goals, you are floating around every day. I believe that those who set goals are high achievers and be aware that they will succeed in achieving what they’ve set up.

Do not be afraid of rejection, whether it’s in our personal or professional life. Rejection will happen to all of us at some point. Even those who apparently always get what they want have been through this. I’ve seen people giving up on what they truly want because of rejection. So, lets stop fearing rejection and start facing it. I used to be terrified of rejection. It was the guiding fear that controlled almost every aspect of my life. It was like a kind of voice inside my head narrating my every action. It was a voice telling me “Don’t wear that”, “Don’t say that”, “Think”, “Overthink” and that tried to control so many other aspects in my life. I had to learn to fear less or else, it was going to consume me completely. So, when I started being less afraid was the moment when I started being honest of who I was and trusting that I was good enough. Now, I rather taking chances. I’m not always brave, but the moments in which I choose to push my fear of rejection away, I know I’m truly trying. Do not feed your fears because the less you fear rejection, the more chances you have to succeed.

And last but not least, be confident. Confidence may be a tricky, tricky little thing. If you start looking at yourself as a confident, capable person, eventually you’ll start to feel so too. Success needs your confidence, passion and positive attitude. Lynn Taylor, a national workplace expert, says that confidence is a key leadership quality. If you are confident and show that confidence to your co-workers you’ll be able to attract and retain a quality team, because they will trust you and they will feel that you have matters under control. Have assuredness of your own worth, abilities and power. Someone who is confident has a strong sense of belief and certainty in himself/herself. Take concrete actions that improve your competence and self-image in such a way that you can increase your self-confidence. Learn to appreciate, embrace and enhance those beliefs and things, so that they shine rather than being hidden.The way you drive yourself also plays a big role in getting what you want. Have faith in your wants and get them!

“Know who you are, and be it. Know what you want, and go out and get it!”

-Carroll Bryant.

--

--