Interview with Nada— QA Engineer

Tech @ Partoo
partoo
Published in
4 min readMay 25, 2022

We’re running a series of interviews at Partoo to present different profiles in the Tech team.

We want to share and learn more about the amazing people behind the Partoo Tech Team. Today we present the testimony of Nada El Boustaoui, QA Engineer.

Tell us about what you were doing before you joined Partoo

When I was back in high school, I used to repair family and friends’ computers and gadgets at home. Back then, all I wanted was to become a Civil Engineer. A year later, in preparatory classes, I decided to become a Computer Engineer instead and learn more about the hobby I was doing just for fun.

I chose to study at ENSIAS, one of the best Software Engineering schools in Morocco, and I graduated in Embedded Systems and Mobile Engineering in 2018.

After my graduation, I joined a multinational consultancy company in Morocco as a QA Engineer, which was my first experience in quality assurance. I worked on two different projects: the first as a Test and Validation Engineer and the second as a Business Analyst and QA.

What is your team and role at Partoo?

I joined Partoo in December 2020 as the first QA Engineer in the Tech team. Back then, we didn’t have as many Feature Teams as we do now but quality assurance was already becoming a very important aspect.

Today, I work mostly with 2 Feature teams on the validation of their scope and designing the QA processes. I collaborate with Product Managers on acceptance criteria, defining the test strategy & test plan for each EPIC, and validating the scope & corrections when the desired results are not met.

What convinced you to join Partoo?

There were 3 main things that convinced me to join Partoo:

  • After having worked in a consulting company, I wanted to work in a company developing its own products;
  • I was so impressed with how Savinien (CPO) and Jonàs (CTO) reflected the company values during my interviews, this really inspired me;
  • I thought it would be a great experience and a challenge to build the QA processes from the very beginning and assist in the team creation.
Nada & Sophie (Marketing Manager) at our annual seminar

What do you like most about your job?

I like the fact that it is full of new challenges. One of the things that Partoo values most is creativity, so I love the fact that we can easily propose and discuss our ideas with other team members and managers. And then to see these ideas and suggestions be put into place and have a positive impact, that’s great!

There is also a great team spirit at Partoo. Even with more than 330 employees today, the team spirit hasn’t changed since the first day I started. It’s a great environment to learn from others on both professional and personal levels. We like to have fun and there are always lots of things going on: events, team building, sport, and after-work activities. This is a really nice opportunity to get to know other people and to make true friendships.

What has been your most exciting project since joining Partoo?

I’ve had so many exciting projects since I joined Partoo! As the first QA Engineer in the Tech team, I’ve been able to make important decisions concerning the structure of the QA team, proposing a vision and new processes, which has been really cool.

But if I have to choose one in particular, it would be my involvement in the recruitment process of a Technical Support Engineer at the end of 2021. Being on the other side of the recruitment process as the “interviewer” was not something I expected to be doing in the near future. It was a fantastic learning experience and also really fun!

If you could convince someone interested in joining the Tech team at Partoo, what would you say?

The values of Partoo are truly reflected in the everyday life of the company: fun, team spirit, curiosity, empathy. There are always new challenges, projects and activities to get involved in, so it’s clear to say that we’re rarely bored!

Partoo has a great international environment and it’s very special having colleagues from so many different countries and being able to learn about new cultures and have a more open mindset to others’ backgrounds.

I really felt welcomed and valued since my first days at Partoo, it’s a really special feeling. It feels like home so come and join us to make this family as big as possible 😉

If you want to join the team, we’re recruiting! Check out our offers: https://careers.partoo.co/jobs

--

--