The Art of Doing Less and Making More

How to Pick Your 3 Daily Tasks

Britt Malka šŸ¦Š
Passion & Profit

--

Photo by Jordan Bauer on Unsplash

I used to work hard, 7 days a week from I woke up and until I went to bed around 2ā€“3 or 4 am.

Then I took one day off per week.

Surprise: My productivity didnā€™t go down.

Lately, my friend, mentor and coach, Sean Mize, told me to work only 2 hours a day.

Four days a week.

And Iā€™m laughing as I write this, because now I get even more done than before.

So how do you get down to working 2 hours a day?

(If you have a day job, this only relates to your side hustle.)

Use the 80/20 Rule

Hereā€™s what you should do.

Step #1: List everything you do during your working hours.

I wrote down my daily routines from I started in the morning and until I ended in the evening. That was shocking. So much procrastination.

This was a wake-up call for me.

Step #2: Pick 2ā€“3 things that make you 80% of your income.

Pretty self-explanatory.

I took a look down my list. Three things stood out. The rest was just stuff that ā€œkept me busy.ā€ And ā€œbusyā€ doesnā€™t make money.

Choose the 2 or 3 things from your list that make you the most money.

Step #3: Skip the rest.

So simple.

Yet, perhaps the most scary step. Until now, itā€™s been theory. Itā€™s been looking at what you had and what you did.

Now, weā€™re turning the theory into practice.

All kinds of thoughts may run through your mind now. Like, ā€œCan I do this?ā€ or ā€œFor sure, I canā€™t skip all the other steps, can I?ā€

Try it for a week.

For me, it was surprising. It felt great. I had plenty of time to recharge my batteries. And my income didnā€™t go down at all.

Now for the planning, you should use the 30/30/60 rule.

Use the 30/30/60 Rule

Not familiar with that one?

Haha, canā€™t blame you. Itā€™s one I came up with when I planned my 2-hour daily work week. It works.

If you have 3 things on your daily to-do list, work on them in 30-minute intervals.

  • Work 30 minutes on the first.
  • Work 30 minutes on the second.
  • And for the slightly more time-demanding task, work 2 x 30 minutes on that one.

Before you start, thereā€™s one very important thing you should know.

Without it, the whole system will fail.

Focus, Focus and Focus

You need laser focus on your present task.

  • Donā€™t do anything else before youā€™ve finished.
  • Block social media, Telegram, email etc.
  • Donā€™t fetch email until after youā€™ve finished your tasks.

Iā€™ve often ignored the last oneā€¦ with disastrous results.

Emails are super-distracting. You read something, and you keep thinking about it. Or worse, it makes you change your planning.

Stay away from email until youā€™ve done your 3 tasks that day.

Your day starts when you wake up. What you focus on first will get your focus for the whole workday. Focus on your tasks.

In case youā€™re curious about my 3 thingsā€¦ here they are:

  • Emails to my list(s)
  • Medium articles
  • Info product creation

Why these three?

They are the three things that move the needle.

  • Audience
  • Communication
  • Monetization

Iā€™ve written emails since 2003, so I can write them fast.

Therefore, Iā€™ve allotted 30 minutes only for writing emails. I track time with Kanbanflow. I love their simple boards, and it makes sure I donā€™t forget time and accidentally spend 80 minutes on a 30-minute task.

Itā€™s important to have things planned beforehand.

So when you sit down to do a task, you know exactly what you should do. For me that means I know what products Iā€™m going to promote that week. I know which Medium articles to write. And I know what info product Iā€™m working on.

Thatā€™s all it takes to go from 8 hour busy days to 2 hour work days.

Try it out and let me know what you think.

If you want to learn more about writing compelling emails, I have just the offer for you.

And right now itā€™s even completely free to join.

Just sign up here with your best email address, and youā€™ll get the course over the next five days. (note: clicking this link will take you offsite outside of Medium)

--

--

Britt Malka šŸ¦Š
Passion & Profit

Prof. writer since 1994. Quit job 1995. Now helping others making a living writing with my courses, PLR and eBooks. Going for the 12-Hour Week? Check About me.