Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

Auto correct in the time of COVID-19

Anyone else getting some strange suggestions these days?

Jennifer Wain
3 min readApr 24, 2020

--

COVID-19 is a bit of a mind-bender on the little things. Take auto correct. I don’t know about you, but I’m getting some pretty random suggestions: CLOVIS-19 (OED: King of the Franks from 481–511 AD who extended Merovingian rule to Gaul and Germany after victories at Soissons (486) and Cologne (496); I suspect the losers might have likened him to a pandemic), COVED-19 (got nothing), COPIED-19 (relatable; I have a dark past with the photocopy biz) and CUPID-19 (as in, Love in the Time of…).

The best so far is CIVIC-19 which seems more prescient than random. We need to be good citizens like never before in this world where the simple act of crowding around the discount bin at the grocery store could kill someone.

In the mean time, my bigger quandary: When will auto correct learn COVID-19?

According to the Great G, you typically need to type a new word five or six times before auto correct will start suggesting it.

For us humans, we learned COVID-19 plus a whole slew of new words in about one short week. Social distancing, self isolation, quarantine, six feet, PPE, N95, WFH.

And we’ve been creating them too.

I heard Tony Thorne, language consultant at King’s College London, on CBC the other day saying that’s just what we humans do in the face of major social upheaval. He has identified more than 1,000 new #coronaspeak words like covidiot, isodesk and Zoombomber to — my Canadian fave — drivecation (holidaying in your motor home parked in your own driveway).

WTF. This virus is sending us down a rabbit hole of word-nerdery.

Heck, by week two we were debating semantics. Social distancing or physical distancing? Dr. Theresa Tam, Canada’s Chief Public Health Officer, quickly championed the latter. I’m all for nuance in a world where sticking together while staying apart has never been more important. I think most of us agree.

I think we can also agree that, as much as our words have changed, our day-to-day world has too. It’s a new normal and we might never go back. Our heroes are public health officers, grocery store clerks and scientists. The canals in Venice are running blue. Air pollution is dropping in our major cities: Toronto, Edmonton, Calgary and Vancouver are all reporting cleaner skies. Sure, I miss family and friends, but I also have hope for our species like never before.

And then there’s WFH for those of us lucky to still have a job. Less paper, more Cloud. Video meetings that feel delightfully awkward because we’re really, really happy to see each other but we all look so weird (it’s okay, there are filters for that). Virtual pivots for many of our favourite things, from yoga classes to grocery shopping, e-learning and mental health counselling.

We’re doing what we humans do best: adapt.

As I walk around my neighbourhood, I see the knock-on effects of navigating the world at six feet apart. Strangers smiling and nodding as we negotiate who stays on the sidewalk, who takes the street. Chats across front porches. Making noise for all the courageous acts, starting with healthcare workers but maybe for all of us trying to make life better on this sick, beautiful planet. All the kindness.

It’s a brave new world. And while we wait for rapid testing, vaccines and cures, I hope we can make some of the good things stick.

In the mean time, I’m taking Tony’s advice. It’s locktail hour and I’m pouring myself a quarantini.

--

--

Jennifer Wain
Passionate Pedestrian

Professional communicator with a tendency to wander. Interested in walk-life balance, active transport and livable communities.