Could You Live Without TV For A Week?

Defying what’s “Normal” to do.

Christopher Banks
PassionDig
5 min readMay 17, 2018

--

Too many times have I heard the phrase it’s “normal”.

Everyone eats junk food, it’s “normal.”

A lot of people don’t exercise, it’s “normal.”

“Normal” has become an excuse or merely a hindrance to our lives. It gives us an escape clause for not wanting to do something like going for a run; it allows us to sit down and be very passive, staying still instead of heading forward to our dreams, to what we could become.

One of the first things you will most likely notice when you enter my living room is that there is no television. This amazes and confuses people because “Everyone has a television, right?” Well, not in this home. “But it’s normal to have a television.”

What would happen if you took your TV out of your life and instead replaced it with steps towards your dreams.

***

At the beginning of this year I looked back at my life and thought about what progress I had made, what I spent most of my time doing and did it benefit me.

Do you want to know what I spent most of my time doing?:

That’s right. I spent a HUGE amount of my time watching television. It’s easy to do and you don’t have to think. But where has it gotten me?

All those hours spent sitting there with that box in front of me, what did I achieve and was it best for me? The answers to those questions…nowhere, not a lot and no.

I am not saying that you should never watch television or that it’s evil, what I am saying is that I like many others spent far too long sitting in front of one, and it has gotten me nowhere.

***

After coming to this conclusion, I removed the television from my room for a week to see if I missed it or if I needed it. It hasn’t been back in my living room since.

I have not sworn off TV series’ or movies for life. I have a projector which might come out once a week for a movie night with my partner, and I might watch an episode on my laptop now and then. What has happened though, is that I feel less compelled to watch something. If I go into my living room and there is a television placed in front of my sofa, then how easy would it be to pick up that remote and turn it on? I have taken temptation out of my living room and inserted motivation to do more important things.

On a typical evening with my partner we now discuss what we would like to do for the night. Should we do yoga, sing karaoke, write a song, read a book or go for a jog? Having no TV makes us think more, has us more creative and more active. Do you think that sounds better or worse?

If your friends told you they spent their whole night watching television. Do you think you would feel better saying you did something fun, creative, active or that you too sat there and watched TV too?

Or

When people ask me why I don’t have a television, why I don’t do the “normal” thing, I tell them about all the things I achieve because of my life without TV.

Here are just a few of things I tell them:

I play the guitar and sing with my family
Learn Spanish with my language exchange friend
Read more books
Travel the world
Conquer Mountains
Work towards my dreams (Run a marathon)

***

If I told my past self that I have no TV, I think he would faint. However after a year of trying it, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

So what is your dream? Is there anything preventing you from reaching it?

Once you have answered those questions, set some goals and commit to them. Whether it be to read more books, to learn how to cook, how to dance or how to write, do it! If you dream of climbing the highest mountain, starring in movies, teaching others your passions, then set a target and head towards it today. Don’t be “normal”, be “unique”, be “extraordinary” be “you”.

Now I challenge you to try no TV for a week. See what you accomplish, how you feel and let us know all about it :)

If you enjoyed this piece, please click the 👏 button and share to help others find it! Feel free to leave a comment below.

Pursue and discover new passions at PassionDig.com.

PassionDig.com
Facebook @passiondig
Instagram @passiondig
Twitter @passiondigger

--

--