Christopher Banks
PassionDig
Published in
7 min readJan 12, 2017

--

“I’ve Got Passion” Spotlight Series #1: How Having My Son Reignited My Passion in Crafting & Mason Jars

“I believe it is possible to be a full time working mom and still be able to build a business around what you enjoy to do.”

- Anna Sidel

Anna and her family at a pumpkin patch

Welcome to the very first post in our I’ve Got Passion series. We shine the brightest when we are pursuing what our soul craves. Throughout this series, we will feature stories of passionate people and share their tips and inspirations.

***

Imagine opening your eyes after a great night’s sleep and you are set on pursuing your passion. However, you soon remember all the responsibilities you have and by the time you’ve finished them, your passion has fallen into the shadows. It is important to find time for your passions no matter what. Although it is difficult, Anna Sidel from Georgia has made it a priority.

Anna has a job that keeps her busy throughout the day and leaves her tired at the end of it. After having a baby boy who became the center of her life, she forgot how important it was to do something for herself. Many of us struggle to balance our daily responsibilities with what brings us joy. Anna shows us how she does it while being a mom and wife. She’s taken it a step further to create a successful business around something she’s passionate about.

Tell me a little about yourself, where you come from, and what you like about the place?

I grew up in the U.S. in a small town called Menlo (Georgia), where there are no red lights and only small, locally owned businesses. I am now living amidst the hustle and bustle in Atlanta. I’ve experienced all types of weather, from the hottest summers to the coldest winters. It is so beautiful here.

Can you share your story on how you got into making crafts and why you love it?

I feel that I have been around crafts making all my life. I have seen it throughout school with my peers. However, I did not become PASSIONATE about creating things until after my son was born. I have made a huge attempt to rediscover what it is that I love to do. Recently, I feel that I have learned the importance of finding and making time to not lose the things that you enjoy.

What is your earliest memory of arts and crafts?

I have always loved arts and crafts. I can remember it as early as preschool. I feel it was always something I enjoyed — however, the type of joy I get from it now is unmatched from then.

What crafts do you enjoy the most and would love to share with everyone?

I enjoy it all, but I do have specific things I enjoy and feel I am able to do more with than others. I absolutely LOVE mason jar crafts. I am not sure what it is about them. They create such beautiful centerpieces, and they can be customized to any season or occasion of the year. They serve as gorgeous centerpieces, bathroom accessories, utensil holders, office décor, etc. The possibilities are endless. My other newfound favorite are printables. I had no idea the unlimited artistic possibilities on creating printables. You can literally create anything. Knowing these are images that are going to be filling the walls of someone’s home makes you want to make them great.

Anna’s mason jar bathroom decor

Decorative mason jar vases

What is your favorite piece you have created and why?

I have many I love, but my favorite would probably be the baseball mason jars. My husband is a huge sports fan that when I make the jars for him — seeing his excitement is enough to make me happy. I don’t always feel he necessarily understands my PASSION or gets excited about my projects, but he did for this project because it was related to something HE had a PASSION for.

Pair of distressed baseball mason jars

If someone asked you what passion is, what would you say?

To me, passions are what makes a person. I feel like, without passion, you are without a personality or without a soul. I feel that you have to have passions in life to keep pushing and driving you throughout the way. I obviously had a passion when I went to school to be a hygienist, and now I am one. I have a renewed passion in life now for becoming something through my blog and hopefully helping to make a difference in other people’s lives!

Have there been or are there hurdles you have had to jump over to get to where you are now?

Since having my son, who is 21 months old, time for myself has been few and far in between.

I feel the focus in life shifted as expected, and you begin to forget what you enjoy for yourself. The projects I have randomly created leave people saying, “You are so creative, you should do more with that.” My response was always, “Yes I know but there isn’t time…”

What was it that made you say “NO! I will not let anything get in my way!” ?

Recently, I feel I have learned the importance of finding and making time to not lose the things you enjoy. I think my first thought was, don’t forget the things you love in life and don’t forget where you came from. I strive to remember these two things. Once I got started, I felt motivation that I haven’t felt in a very long time.

A lot of parents say “I have a job AND a family to look after, how can I possibly add something else to the pile…?” Tell me how YOU do it? You have hurdles but you seem to have overcome them.

I have that get up super early before work feeling (my alarm goes off at 3:45 am for work), so 3am is when I need to get the day started to make progress possible on this venture. I also have to utilize my time when my son goes to bed for as long as I can last, to get some work done then as well.

Now for something a little more fun. What is something quirky about yourself?

I looove reality TV! My husband gets so mad at me, but I guess I have an addiction. I guess there is something about life being stressful, that it isn’t quite so stressful when you are watching someone else’s…

If you were to host an experience on PassionDig, what would it be like?

I imagine it would be the step by step of a craft project, likely some type of mason jar project, probably with an energized toddler in the background trying to help every step of the way. (Hence the mom aspect with limited time on her hands.) Trying to create a complete project that is normally fairly straight forward is truly challenging when you have a little one on your [heels] at all times. I feel this speaks to busy moms of young ones everywhere because the struggle is real! But it can happen!!

If you had all the time in the world, what would you do?

If I had all the time in the world, I would likely dive into the craft [and] creative business more. I often wonder now what I did with my time before I had a child and I couldn’t give you a good answer on that. Now that I see how valuable time is, I see different ways I probably could have been spent it.

***

“Time is our most precious asset, we should invest it wisely.”

Michael Levy

***

You might think achieving your dreams isn’t possible after having a child, while working two jobs, or trying to juggle all your responsibilities. Anna shows us that with dedication and hard work, you can find time to do things that bring you joy. Start by asking yourself, “Where can I find time to pursue my passions?” Don’t allow yourself to come up with excuses. Focus instead on what’s important to you and make room for it. We all have dreams and plans to do things we’re passionate about — it’s time to put those plans into action.

If you would like to know more about Anna and her beautiful creations, head over to:

www.craftylifemomandwife.com

Do you have a passion that has been left in the shadows? Strike a match and bring it into the light! You have one life, live it to the fullest, no excuses. Discover new passions; head over to:

www.PassionDig.com

PassionDig.com
Facebook @passiondig
Instagram @passiondig
Twitter @passiondigger

--

--