“I’ve Got Passion” Spotlight Series #3: An Artist Who Wants to Open Our Eyes to New Perspectives

Christopher Banks
PassionDig
Published in
7 min readJul 17, 2017

“Passion to me is expressing all the beauty and intensity I see in the world that people often miss.”

Ruth Elizabeth Miller

Have you ever wondered where life would take you if you had pursued your passions?

From a childhood where sometimes there wasn’t enough to eat, to becoming an award winning artist, it is passion that has guided Ruth Miller. Passion can do the same for you if you allow it. This is why we bring you inspiring people, to encourage you to take that first step to a better life.

In this third installment of our “I’ve Got Passion” series, Ruth Miller shows us how passion has ignited her soul — allowing her to express herself in many ways, shapes, and forms. From photography to Bartitsu (the martial art Sherlock Holmes practiced), Ruth shows us how passion has no limits.

Today, you will see how passion has affected her life and how her art can change our view of the world.

Tell us a bit about yourself including where you are from, your key experiences, and what you do now.

I was born on the East Coast, but raised all over the San Francisco Bay Area. My family was very artistic. I’ve been involved in art from a young age, both as a model and as a creator of visual art (photography, painting, etc.). My mother, who became my father (he’s transgender) was a musician. These aspects of his life exposed me to different communities and artists.

I am currently creating visual art and working to support my family. I run the martial arts self defense demonstration room at the local steampunk convention, Clockwork Alchemy*.

*Clockwork Alchemy is a premier steampunk convention where you train to fight mythical beasts and more. You use weapons such as sabers and umbrellas.

What are your passions? How did you get into them and why do you love them?

My passion is Art. Instead of coloring in books as a child, I looked at art in museums. I fell in love with photography, but didn’t have the funds to pursue it (as a child, film is expensive!) I adored how images created stories capturing them in time. As I have grown, so have my passions and artistic range. My works now range from drawings to enhanced photography. I love to create images that tell stories and invite the viewer to come up with their own stories. I want my work to inspire people.

What is your favorite piece of art and why?

Picking only one work when I adore so many forms is very difficult. If I could only pick one, it would be Rembrandt van Rijn’s PHILOSOPHER IN MEDITATION (1632) (found in the Louvre). I love the use of light and dark, his way of bringing our eyes from one part of the painting to another, how it leads one to see greater depths. In this painting, especially, I love the movement sensed in the stillness of the poses.

Tell me one quirky thing about yourself.

I love to dress up in costumes and do imaginative things — ranging from Light Saber fighting to Waltzing to Bartitsu. (Bartitsu is an eclectic martial art that consists of different techniques spanning across four martial arts and four fighting ranges.)

What are your current and upcoming projects?

I am currently working on three series of works:

1. “Children of War” — Photography

A hyper-realistic photography series which turns the table on how we view war. Instead of viewing children like victims, they are dressed as pilots, naval gunners and surgeons in war. This provokes the question: “Why is it okay to see men in these positions, but when we see children in them, we stop and think, is it all worth it?”

2. “Jedi” — Photography

In this series, I show the passion of modern day martial artists pursuing an ancient art. From fantasy comes a new reality, bringing out ancient truths and wisdom.

I use club members from the Jedi martial arts culture (local to the Bay Area) for my subjects. These martial artists study lightsaber techniques and it’s culture. I capture this and bring it to life.

3. “Crows: Stories in Panels” Photo Manipulation/Multimedia

The final and most intense series is “Crows: Stories in Panels”. Spaces and stories we take for granted, are shown in a new light. The places I use for images are everyday spaces found in the San Francisco Bay Area. I added crows as they are known to be creatures that move between different dimensions. This inspires the viewers to see art from their own perspective. It allows them to create a more interactive story for themselves.

I’m looking to have more gallery shows in the near future, as well as guiding others on their path into the arts.

What does passion mean to you?

Passion to me is expressing all the beauty and intensity I see in the world that people often miss.

Why do you think people often miss those things? How did you train your eyes to see it?

People don’t look up…

Stop, look up, look at angles, see the architecture and landscapes all around. I see things that most people walk past.

People often think that beauty and art are only framed paintings in museums. This means they miss so much; the purple stained glass reflections on the sidewalk that shimmer near dandelions, the flowers growing from the graffiti painted alleyways, fighting against man-made structures. It’s so beautiful and it’s all there for us to see.

I spend my time looking for what others miss. I work on this skill and I’m always amazed by fleeting moments of beauty around me.

Have there been obstacles that you’ve had to overcome while pursuing your passion? How did you deal with them?

I spent most of my childhood not knowing where I’d be living or if I’d have enough to eat. There wasn’t macaroni art growing up as it was needed for dinner. Art, however, was something I could lose myself in. It was my guide, my savior, and foundation. Whenever life got rough, like when my parents died, art was always there to guide me. It gave me the drive and determination to succeed in life and as a result, I have won multiple art shows.

If you were to give advice to people interested in pursuing art, what piece of advice would you give them?

Don’t let anyone tell you that you can’t do art, that you’ll starve or there’s no jobs for artists. Don’t listen…instead, think creatively. There are more jobs for artists than meets the eye.

Don’t listen to people when they say, Oh, that’s nice, but have you thought about doing xyz (something mundane)? NO! Always work on your art from your soul, from what you know is deep inside of you! Never give up. Follow your passion. If you can’t change your life, change your perspective. Make Art.

If you were to host a PassionDig experience, what would it be like?

I would love to take people on a Story Capture. We would have a short familiarization lecture with a Q&A, explain what we are going to look for and how we will find it. After a gourmet snack we would tour colourful neighbourhoods of San Francisco.

I would teach the students to see beauty where it is often overlooked. They would find new images both ordinary and extraordinary. I would teach capture techniques using digital cameras and iPhones. Afterwards we would convene at the lab. They would learn quick and dirty editing techniques to make the images into stories. We would have a positive and encouraging critique session, and we would end by sharing our art and adventures with each other.

If you had all the time in the world and money wasn’t an issue, what would you do?

I’d do more of what I’m doing now — travel and create art. I would continue to go places and let the influence of that place and the beauty there, be my inspirations. I would keep creating a plethora of art and teach to encourage other artists to see and express the feelings they experience around them.

***

Throughout the years, Ruth’s passion for art has always been with her, through good and bad times. It has allowed her to express and share the beauty she sees in the world, which we often miss. Ruth is a great example of where passion can lead us. If we don’t pursue our passions, how will we know what we can achieve?

What are your passions? How have they affected your life?

We hope Ruth’s story puts you on your path to pursuing your passion. It is our vision to create a community of inspiring, passionate people, like you. Dream big, start today, and don’t look back.

“A dream will remain a dream, until you start to carry it out.”

Uncover new passions at passiondig.com today.

Like and share if you enjoyed this interview.

PassionDig.com
Facebook
@passiondig
Instagram
@passiondig
Twitter
@passiondigger

--

--